...

View Full Version : cant get my echo to work



runnerjp
05-09-2008, 06:33 PM
i wanted to show a register script through echo like so
<?php
session_start(); //allows session
include "config.php";
echo "<center>";
//checks if there trying to veriy there account
if(isset($_GET['verify'])) {
//gets the code and makes it safe
$code = addslashes($_GET['code']);
//gets the code from the database
$getcode=mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `verification` WHERE `code` = '$code'");
//counts the number of rows
$getcode = mysql_num_rows($getcode);
//if the ammount of rows is 0 the code does not exist
if($getcode == 0) {
echo "Invalid verification code!";
}
//or if the code does exist we will activiate there account
else{
//get the data from the database
$getcode=mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `verification` WHERE `code` = '$code'");
//fetchs the data from the db
$dat = mysql_fetch_array($getcode);
//sets the users user level to 2 which means they can now use there account
$update = mysql_query("UPDATE `members` SET `userlevel` = '2' WHERE `username` = '".$dat['username']."'") or die(mysql_error());
//deletes the code as there is no use of it now
$delete = mysql_query("DELETE FROM `verification` WHERE code = '$code'");
//says thanks and your account is ready for use
echo "Thank you, Your account has been verified.";
}
}else
//if we have posted the register for we will register this user
if(isset($_GET['register'])) {
//check to see if any fields were left blank
if((!$_POST[username]) || (!$_POST[password]) || (!$_POST[cpassword]) || (!$_POST[email])) {
echo "A field was left blank please go back and try again.";
}else{
//posts all the data from the register form
$username = $_POST[username];
$password = $_POST[password];
$cpassword = $_POST[cpassword];
$email = $_POST[email];
//check see if the 2 passwords are the same
if($password == $cpassword)
{
//encrypts the password 8 times
$password = sha1(md5(md5(sha1(md5(sha1(sha1(md5($password))))))));
$cname = mysql_query("SELECT `username` FROM `members` WHERE `username` = '$username'");
$cname= mysql_num_rows($cname);
//checks to see if the username or email allready exist
if($cname>=1) {
echo "The username is already in use";
}else{
//gets rid of bad stuff from there username and email
$username = addslashes(htmlspecialchars($username));
$email = addslashes(htmlspecialchars($email));

if($semail == "1") { // $email set as 1 means email activation is active
//adds them to the db
$adduser = mysql_query("INSERT INTO `members` (`username`, `password`, `email`) VALUES('$username','$password','$email')");
//posible letters for the verification code
$alphanum = "ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz0123456789";
//shuffles the letters around to create a 16 long code
$code = substr(str_shuffle($alphanum), 0, 16);
//adds there code along with there user name to the db
$addcode = mysql_query("INSERT INTO `verification` (`username`, `code`) VALUES('$username','$code')");
//don't edit this, this is the link for there activication
$link = "http://$host$self?verify&code=$code";
//sends the email to the person
mail("$email", "Member-Ship Validation", "Thank you for registering on $sitename.
Please copy the below link into you address bar,

$link", "From: Site Verification");
//message sent now lets tell them to check there email
echo "You are now registered,<br><br>Please check your email to activate your account.";
}else{ //no need for email activation
$adduser = mysql_query("INSERT INTO `members` (`username`, `password`, `email`, `userlevel`) VALUES('$username','$password','$email','2')");
echo "You are now registered,<br><br>You can now loggin to your account";
}
}
}else{
echo "Your password and conformation password do not match!";
}
}
}else{
//none of the above so lets show the register form
echo "<title>register</title>
<style>
body {
margin-left: 0px;
margin-top: 0px;
margin-right: 0px;
margin-bottom: 0px;
background-color: #99b3b4;
}
</style>
<table width="241">
<tr>
<td width="233" bgcolor="99b3b4"><?php include("registerfunction.php"); ?>

<link href="css/login.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<div align="center" class="style5 style3"><u>Register form</u> </div>
<table width="221" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td width="217"><p align="center" class="style2" >Please enter a valid Email as we <br>
will be sending you and Email with<br>
an activation link
to validate your <br>
email address! </td>
</tr>
</table>
<br class="clear" />
<table width="88%" border="1" align="center" cellspacing="0" bordercolor="99b3b4">
<tr>
<td width="100%" align="center" bordercolor="#000000" bgcolor="#FFFFFF"> <form action='register.php?register' method='post'>
<table width='350'>
<tr>
<td width='150'>Username:</td>
<td width='200'><input type='text' name='username' size='30' maxlength='25'></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Password:</td>
<td><input type='password' name='password' size='30' maxlength='25'></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Confirm Password:</td>
<td><input type='password' name='cpassword' size='30' maxlength='25'></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Email:</td>
<td><input type='text' name='email' size='30' maxlength='55'></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan='2'><center><input type='submit' value='Register'></center></td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>";
}
echo "<center>";
?>

but i keep getting the error Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_LNUMBER, expecting ',' or ';' in /home/runningp/public_html/register.php on line 96 but i dont dunerstand why as its part of the table :S

TheShaner
05-09-2008, 06:45 PM
This is because on line 96, PHP encounters double quotes and thinks you're ending the echo.

The beauty of PHP is that you can mix PHP and HTML. It'll only display the HTML you put within the else.

Add a line above 86 and put ?> to end your PHP code. On line 86, take out echo " . Then, on lines 136 - 138, change:

</form>";
}
echo "<center>";
to

</form>
<?php } ?>
<center>
-Shane

fireblade
05-09-2008, 06:49 PM
You are some where using double quotes and some where single quotes. Inside double quotes never use single quotes. Or write all HTML code out side the PHP tages.
This is a syntex error.
If you mis some where colon, quote, or if you use them in wrong way this type of error will occur. Clear the code again. make it clean. Errors will be wipe out.

runnerjp
05-09-2008, 06:58 PM
ahhh yes that worked a treat...ty :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum