...

View Full Version : Most suitable code for my website



Bodger Bowham
05-07-2008, 11:52 AM
As webmaster of my company, I have been asked to create our website, which you can visit at www.visualimpactuk.com.

I put it together using only html and a little js, but I know there is lots of room for improvement. But my boss doesn't, so I did a quick job to get a bonus.

I mean, some pages have around 10 frames so it's a nightmare to keep ontop of, and of course I am aware of the massive flaws found in frames.

I do take pride in my work, and I want the website to look its best and be as fast as possible. Which would be the most suitable way to build it and how can I increase the speed of this image heavy site (I can't really compromise on image size any more than I have because of the nature of our business)? I guess Flash would be best for this purpose - but I despise that program and don't have a copy anyway.

...and how do I put up an avatar?

Thanks, people.

mlseim
05-07-2008, 01:40 PM
I'm amazed it looks and works as nice as it does ... good job on that.

Anything else you do would be a total re-write ... such as using PHP and
maybe some <iframe> inline frames (instead of frames) ... and CSS stylesheet.
That would solve the "maintenance" problem because making changes would
be easy ... the content could be stored in simple text files.

There's nothing wrong with some Javascripting, if it's not a requirement for
navigation. In the chance someone has it turned-off, your site should still
be operational.

But you do have the advantage of a site that's "done" ... and you could work
on a clone of the site "on the side", with no frames. Sort of working secretly.

===========

An avatar for this forum? Click the "User CP" button in upper left corner of this screen.

Bodger Bowham
05-09-2008, 12:03 PM
I've managed to speed up the website and any future editing quite a lot using only iframes (it was all plain frames before), and altering the layout slightly. I also used div positioning to let things overlap whereas they used to be 1 large image with text added in photoshop.

mlseim
05-09-2008, 02:08 PM
You better check your site with FireFox browser ... something is "amiss".

I didn't look close enough to see what was happening, but I'm guessing it's
a background color issue.

===========

By inline frames, I was imagining your index.php (or index.html) file would
be the main page, with the banner, the navigation, and the footer. There
would be an inline frame where the content would appear. Each content
page would be a separate file that gets put into the iframe based on the link.

<a href="about.html" target="iframe1">about us</a>

On the same index.html you have:
<iframe name="iframe1" width="450" height="200" .... etc.

When the link is clicked, the contents of "about.html" get put into
that iframe, because that is the target for it.

The point of using <iframe> is to have a frame within a page (inline).

Alternatively, you could use PHP includes to populate a <div> area
where the content appears. No <iframe> needed at that point, but the
whole page would refresh instead of the <iframe>. If having the whole
page refresh is OK, PHP would be the way to go.

Bodger Bowham
05-09-2008, 03:56 PM
Damn, your right. It doesn't work at all in Firefox really. I didn't specify a background colour because in IE the default is white. Anyway that is fixed now but the content still doesn't quite fit on the page. Very annoying. Any suggestions on how I can fix this?

Unfortunately I'm not very literate in PHP, but my idea was to not refresh the whole page in order to save loading time.

Anyway, at least now it is legible in Firefox. The site is designed for our clients or potential clients - architects. I'm sure the outstanding majority of them use IE, but yes, it will have to be fixed.

Does Firefox disable some javascript by default? My coloured scrollbars aren't working.

bazz
05-09-2008, 07:29 PM
The site is designed for our clients or potential clients - architects. I'm sure the outstanding majority of them use IE, but yes, it will have to be fixed.



I know only three architects so my results aren't scientific. But all three of them, use firefox.

hth.

bazz



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum