View Full Version : Disable / grey-out a button until all fields are filled

Arnaud
05-06-2008, 02:56 PM
Hi,

I need help - I tried seraching the forum but I didn't find what I was looking for...

I have a form with a few text inputs and a submit button.

I would like the submit button to be greyed-out until all fields are filled by the user, so that he only can submit the form once everything is filled in.

By the way, how can I disable, or what method can I use to disable the submit action when the user hits 'enter'?

Thanks in advance!!

abduraooft
05-06-2008, 03:18 PM
Have a look at http://codingforums.com/showthread.php?p=668901, here oesxyl explained a similar method in his 3rd reply.

Arnaud
05-06-2008, 04:25 PM
Thanks... could not really figure it out... I am a javascript newbie and I think it's a bit complicated for what I want to achieve.

I have only 3 fields and 1 submit button.

I just want the submit button to become 'active' or 'enabled' once all 3 fields are filled with something...

Here is my code:

<form name="form1" method="post" action="">

<input name="title" type="text" id="title" size="20">
<textarea name="description" cols="18" rows="5" id="description"></textarea>
<input name="name" type="text" id="name" size="20">

<input name="submit" type="submit" id="submit" value="Add Event" disabled="disabled">

</form>

Hope someone can help... Thanks!

Philip M
05-06-2008, 04:55 PM
Try this:-

Note that it is not a good idea to assign the name "name" or "submit" to an entity as these are HTML tags and can cause confusion. I have changed them.

<input name="title" type="text" id="title" size="20" onblur = "checkFilled()">
<textarea name="description" cols="18" rows="5" id="description" onblur = "checkFilled()"></textarea>
<input name="theName" type="text" id="name" size="20" onblur = "checkFilled()">

<input name="submit" type="submit" id="submitForm" value="Add Event" disabled="disabled">

</form>

<script type = "text/javascript">