...

View Full Version : Progress Bar



juh595
05-01-2008, 12:57 AM
Ok, i realize this should be simple, but i've been trying to figure out the need for a progress bar in general on any web page. I mean they're cool and all, and I want one on a site i'm getting ready to make. But under what circumstances does one need a progress bar?

-juh595

gnomeontherun
05-01-2008, 03:05 AM
You could use a progress bar to load Flash, or images. Honestly if you need a progress bar to load your site, it is probably too big and the files need to be reduced.

http://www.seabreezecomputers.com/tips/progress.htm I found this quickly during a search. I think in most situations, they should be avoided.

juh595
05-01-2008, 03:42 AM
thanks for the info!

-juh595

BabyJack
05-01-2008, 07:47 PM
Basic thing to do is to use an image, then use a redirect.

Millenia
05-01-2008, 09:10 PM
Ok, i realize this should be simple, but i've been trying to figure out the need for a progress bar in general on any web page. I mean they're cool and all, and I want one on a site i'm getting ready to make. But under what circumstances does one need a progress bar?

-juh595

Well it sounds like you are trying to put one in for the sake of it ;).
I suppose progress bars are only needed for things that actually have to load, such as multimedia or flash such as games or videos.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum