...

View Full Version : Site Review



cheechm
04-28-2008, 10:27 PM
Hi,
Can you review the general layout of my site please. I realise that the 3rd menu button rollover doesn't look good. Still working on that one.

Thanks

http://nicks-world.co.uk/tt/

oesxyl
04-28-2008, 11:59 PM
attribute names must be lower case and you miss few alt attributes:

http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fnicks-world.co.uk%2Ftt%2F

I don't like the right side div, it overlap the text.
you must have a footer or padding bottom.
I'm not sure but I think is something wrong with js at first load, I can't reproduce.
I like the layout idea.

regards

mjlorbet
04-29-2008, 12:04 AM
looks nice enough, i'd maybe rethink the tabs bit a little, it just looks too large & a little, i don't quite know how to describe it, but it just doesn't feel quite right. also, ie7 at least, your layout gets broken while resizing the window.

cheechm
04-29-2008, 12:24 AM
It breaks up, I know, but is there anything I can do about that?

Thanks for C+C. ;)

mjlorbet
04-29-2008, 12:29 AM
set your sizes based on the percentage of the screen they should take up instead of a concrete size, that way the content will scale to match the browser's current size

cheechm
04-29-2008, 12:47 AM
set your sizes based on the percentage of the screen they should take up instead of a concrete size, that way the content will scale to match the browser's current size
I'm lazy.. Is there something that does that for me?

LOL.. Thanks

oesxyl
04-29-2008, 12:50 AM
It breaks up, I know, but is there anything I can do about that?

Thanks for C+C. ;)

some bad things:
- overflow: hidden, make it auto or better remove it
- put all content in a wrapper div, and clear at the end( you use float) with clear: both
- table for layout, is not good, use a div instead
- right side, must be float left too.
- don't use position absolute

regards

mjlorbet
04-29-2008, 12:55 AM
not really, but here's what you can do; if you've given your elements ids then you can use a script like this



var elements = document.getElementsByTagName("div");
for(var a = 0; a < elements.length; a++)
alert(elements.id + " :: WIDTH: " + parseInt(elements.style.width)*100/document.documentElement.clientWidth + "&#37; HEIGHT: " + parseInt(elements.style.height)*100/document.documentElement.clientHeight);


and that'll tell you what percentages to use, just make sure to change the tagname to each set of elements that you'll need to size, note if the element is nested within another and is supposed to fill the whole thing then you can just set the width or height (whichever is appropriate) to 100% for that item instead of having to code the size manually. also note that this script should work for internet explorer 7 in xhtml compat mode but i'm not sure what other browsers will support document.documentElement, so be aware of that, really you just want to get the width and height of the objects, convert it to an integer (as when you extract them from the style property, you'll have the unit appended to the end of it), multiply it by 100 and divide it by the corresponding size dimension of the window. so you could use window.innerHeight and window.innerWidth for firefox or document.body.clientHeight and document.body.clientWidth for internet explorer 6 and prior. *note not 100% on that, haven't messed around with client sizes in some time now.

oesxyl
04-29-2008, 01:02 AM
not really, but here's what you can do; if you've given your elements ids then you can use a script like this



var elements = document.getElementsByTagName("div");
for(var a = 0; a < elements.length; a++)
alert(elements.id + " :: WIDTH: " + parseInt(elements.style.width)*100/document.documentElement.clientWidth + "&#37; HEIGHT: " + parseInt(elements.style.height)*100/document.documentElement.clientHeight);


....


I'm not agree with that. You can do a lot of things with javascript others then fixing something what can be done very easy with html/css.

regards

mjlorbet
04-29-2008, 01:04 AM
that's not to fix it, it's to get the values for him so he doesn't have to do the division by hand

oesxyl
04-29-2008, 01:08 AM
that's not to fix it, it's to get the values for him so he doesn't have to do the division by hand
if the layout is correct it don't need the values, using a width: 100% for wrapper and proper css/html inside, is enough. :)

regards

mjlorbet
04-29-2008, 01:09 AM
very true

cheechm
04-29-2008, 08:52 AM
But it is an image based website. So wouldn't percentages muck up the imageS?

mjlorbet
04-29-2008, 03:01 PM
if you only set the width or only set the height it'll be fine, if you set both then it'll do bad things. setting one or the other will keep the aspect ratio constant.

oesxyl
04-29-2008, 10:17 PM
But it is an image based website. So wouldn't percentages muck up the imageS?
as mjlorbet said, if you change only width the height will be changed to keep the aspect ratio constant.
Change what I said in my post and will work. Probably after that you must also make some adjustment to get what you want.
Your layout idea is fine, I like it, :)

regards

gnomeontherun
04-30-2008, 08:10 AM
Its a nice simple layout, but I'm afraid the main content will end up being large text blocks. I don't know what you are thinking for the main content, but it will need some more formatting to keep it exciting.

Your menu is dark, and once the link has been clicked it turns purple and is very hard to read. Make sure to set new colors for link styles. Also, I would lighten the links, you want navigation to be clear and visible at all times. Otherwise people feel trapped. It seems like its misplaced on my monitor since it doesn't really lay in the page layout, but on top and to the right.

Right now as I resize the browser and make it smaller, the content starts to be covered by the nav box, not desirable.

I'm not sure I like using PHP for your pagination like you have, only because everything else seems static. I don't know what you would need PHP for, but if you don't need it then just make the pages plain HTML files and link directly to them. That is my opinion, but I don't think there is anything wrong with the way you have it.

Again, I also like the basic idea. I think fine tuning it will yield a nice looking site.

binaryWeapon
05-24-2008, 05:21 PM
Technical:
- Your login page has a php error
- Doesn't validate (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http://nicks-world.co.uk/tt/?id=5)
- No email form validation

Design:
- The "tall tape" marks (they look like a ruler) on the right seems a little squashed
- Also the horizontal rules (or whatever they are) go behind/in front of the aforementioned tall tape marks
- The menu seems to be just hanging in space. I think it might look better with a border (I don't know why, though...)
- I like the simple design, though

I like the site, it has a clean, simple design. Already looking great!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum