...

View Full Version : Search engines results with frames - HELP please?



dingbatqueen
07-04-2002, 06:19 AM
Howdy! First of all, I'd like to thank you for reading my post. :thumbsup: !!!

I have a wee little problem - I'm doing search engine submissions on a site which has over 700 pages, all designed in FRAMES. :mad: It wouldn't have been my preference, but someone else did it and I'm not being paid to change it. So...

I've used HomeSite's great search/replace feature to insert all my metatags and keywords. I'd also like to be able to insert some kind of script that would either send the user to the framed home page or have the page automatically appear in the frameset for which it was designed. I don't want someone to click on a page and see only part of the site. :( I am submitting each individual URL to the search engines for maximum exposure, so I don't want to exclude them from being indexed.

I'm javascript-challenged, I would say! I really don't understand it very well - my forte is graphic design, having made the move from print to the web for my specialty. I used to work with programmers who would integrate my designs into their dynamic sites, so I didn't get alot of exposure to the 'secrets' of how this all gets done.

I thought that there was some sort of javascript or DHTML script which I could put into each page that would detect if the user had accessed the page outside of the frameset. Does such a thing exist, and if so, what do I need to do? Please remember that I need pretty explicit directions or I get totally lost. :confused: My apologies...I know that is more work for you, but I really do need extra help!

THANK YOU so much for helping me - you people are the BEST!! :thumbsup:

dingbatqueen
07-04-2002, 06:41 PM
Howdy folks!

I don't want to make a pest of myself, but I can't submit to the search engines until I have this problem licked. Any suggestions from anyone? anyone? :rolleyes:

Once again, my thanks to you!!! :thumbsup:

Harriers4ever
07-04-2002, 11:23 PM
I asked a similar question yesterday.

Theres a bit of code in my original posting that may be of some help to you.

Find it below titled 'Redirect to home page script needed'

Harriers-Online (http://www.harriers-online.co.uk)

PhotoJoe
07-05-2002, 03:37 AM
Here is the JS that I use to do what you are asking.

Just paste this code in each page that belongs in a frame and change "index.htm" to the page that builds your frame.

(edited part) I forgot to tell you paste the code between the html tags of <HEAD> & </Head>, I usually put it just before </HEAD>
I hope this helps.

<script>
//By JavaScript Kit (http://javascriptkit.com)
//Over 400+ free scripts here!

//if not in frames
if (parent.frames.length==0)
//CHANGE "index.htm" to the URL of your main frame page
window.location.replace("index.htm")
</script>

If you want to see it work here is a page from my website that belongs in a fram.

http://www.bottomlee.com/ak_Pg01.htm

if you click on that link it will take you here:

http://www.bottomlee.com

dingbatqueen
07-05-2002, 08:35 AM
Thank you both for your excellent suggestions!! I do have one more question though and I'm hoping it's not a dumb one or impossible to answer. What I'm wondering is this - I already have a javascript inserted on each of the pages for another function. How does one go about putting two javascripts in one page? I've tried combining them (no good, but I don't know what I'm doing) and listing them one after another or even further down on the page. What happens is usually only one of the javascripts work and the other doesn't. It's like one negates the other. I don't know much about javascript (I could never do my own scripting) and I've tried to find the answer elsewhere but I'm still stumped. Can anyone suggest how I'd go about doing this ??

THANK YOU BOTH AGAIN FOR YOUR POSTS!!! :thumbsup:

'ding'

PhotoJoe
07-05-2002, 10:23 AM
dingbatqueen,

Attach one of your pages after you save it as a text file, when you replied to this message. Let me see what you are trying to do. You can have as many JS as you want. Sometimes it does make a difference where and how you place them.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum