...

View Full Version : Question for those who have worked with Wordpress



harbingerOTV
04-12-2008, 01:26 AM
Yeah I know I could ask this on the Wordpress forum and I might for more input, but CF is where I come for stuff so...

I have a site that's currently live and am doing a total rebuild. i am going to use wordpress for this. The last sites I've built were not preexisting so I would just install WP and make edits until I needed to stop and then witch back to the default theme. No content just fiddling with the quirks and kinks until I was ready to start added content and the layout was ready for being live.

Since this site is already live I can't really take that approach as there is content to be switched over etc.

Is the best way to do this to set up a dummy domain, get it all running and port it over or would it be easier or better to install php and mysql locally and figure everything out and then go live all at once? I guess that's really kinda the same thing just a little more work if I do it locally to set it up.

So how do y'all go about this type of process?

gnomeontherun
04-12-2008, 01:56 AM
I have a second copy of WP on my host, which pulls the same content, but is a separate installation. This allows me to have two WP with two different themes running. I've used it to show others how to fix problems before, or to test mine.

Otherwise, you could just dump the WP tables into a local installation of a sever like you suggest. I don't think that is any more work, probably actually less (if you get an install package for WAMP setup) than setting up a dummy domain.

mlseim
04-12-2008, 04:59 AM
I do what Jeremy does ...

Install another WP in a different directory and use the same MySQL database.

That works really slick.

gnomeontherun
04-12-2008, 07:51 AM
Awesome, glad I'm doing something right.

nagesh
04-12-2008, 07:53 AM
hi
i hve a form with multiple attachment option.when users uploads an attachment it should go to the mail id provided in the objmail function

i am using asp code for this
plz anyone help me to do this...

abduraooft
04-12-2008, 07:56 AM
hi
i hve a form with multiple attachment option.when users uploads an attachment it should go to the mail id provided in the objmail function

i am using asp code for this
plz anyone help me to do this...:thumbsup::D

gnomeontherun
04-12-2008, 08:03 AM
hi
i hve a form with multiple attachment option.when users uploads an attachment it should go to the mail id provided in the objmail function

i am using asp code for this
plz anyone help me to do this...

Wrong place...put in ASP category. And...probably should post some code so we know what you are doing, otherwise its really hard to help when we don't know where the problem is.

harbingerOTV
04-12-2008, 02:21 PM
jeremy and mlseim,

thanks. Once again it seems I was trying to overcomplicate an issue. See sometimes it's better to step back and others take a stab.

-alan



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum