View Full Version : Java Basics

jpnv8
03-25-2008, 01:00 AM
import java.io.*;//Ask what for or when to use

public class SAMPLE //Ask what for when to use
{

public static InputStreamReader reader = new InputStreamReader(System.in); //for input/output
public static BufferedReader input = new BufferedReader(reader); //for input/output
public static void main (String [] args) //constant statement in java what for?
throws Exception{ //for num1=Integer.parseInt(input.readLine());
hey whats up! hi im new to java. can you please help me understand what these codes are used for.

A.)
public class SAMPLE
what does public class mean?

All i know is the "SAMPLE" statement. It is the filename of the program and it CASE SENSITIVE

B.)
import java.io.*;
I heard this was a library? i also heard aboutjava.util, java.swing. Can you please explain to me the use of these libraries. Is there a website containing all possible libraries in java which shows their complete function.

C.)
throws Exception
Whats this code for? when is it used?

D.)
public static void main (String [] args)
I heard this is a constant statement in java. Can someone please tell me whats this statement for

E.)
public static InputStreamReader reader = new InputStreamReader(System.in); //for input/output
public static BufferedReader input = new BufferedReader(reader); //for input/output

Someone told me these codes are used if you have an input/output
in your program. Can someone explain word for word the purpose of these codes

THANKS in advance =)
by the way this is kind of silly should i call these block of sentences CODES OR A STATEMENT

Kor
03-25-2008, 09:25 AM
I'll move the thread to the JAVA Forum

Aradon
03-25-2008, 06:48 PM
import java.io.*;//Ask what for or when to use

public class SAMPLE //Ask what for when to use
{

public static void main (String [] args) //constant statement in java what for?
throws Exception{ //for num1=Integer.parseInt(input.readLine());