View Full Version : HELP - Includes not working !!

01-23-2003, 11:58 PM
Hi Everyone,

I have a very large and complex site which relies mostly on includes. Though the new host had set up a include_path which is not accessable to ourselves, and they refuse to change it [obviously, therefore all thier other pages will die].

How do I override the include path.
at the moment Im using complete urls.
e.g. "http://www.website.com/includes/include1.php"
but im still getting errors !
the site goes live in a few days and i really need some help !!!!

Thanks !!!!! :D

01-24-2003, 02:10 AM
Sounds like the include_path misses a little thing: A single dot at the start of the string value, which indicates that include() should first look in the actual working directory for a file named like the parameter and then in the paths of the include_path.

include_path = ".:/includes/"

With absolute URLs, I think you're actually running the including files and including their HTML output (if any at all), and not "inserting" them into your code.

Quick solution from a quick-and-dirty analysis: If your host doesn't cooperate, ditch them immediately.

01-24-2003, 02:50 AM
Thanks Muchly,

My hosts ended up adding aditional include path for me !

Thanks again !