...

View Full Version : Http_range



cesarcesar
03-05-2008, 06:03 PM
How/When is $_SERVER['HTTP_RANGE'] or $_ENV['HTTP_RANGE'] set? I am working on a resume download script that requires the HTTP_RANGE to be set... but no matter what i do i cant find how/when its set. Thanks.

rafiki
03-05-2008, 06:07 PM
http://www.php.net/reserved.variables
can't even find range on there

cesarcesar
03-05-2008, 06:13 PM
a google search will show plenty of references to it.... strange.

cesarcesar
03-05-2008, 07:18 PM
http://tools.ietf.org/id/draft-ietf-http-range-retrieval-00.txt

This link explains a lot about HTTP_RANGE. It still leaves out two important points...


The server will send this header only for documents for which it will
be able to satisfy the byte range request, e.g. for PDF documents, or
images, which can be partially reloaded if the user interrupts the
page load, and image gets only partially cached.

What types of files satisfy the byte range request? also,


The Request-Range header is simply ignored
by a server that does not support it, and it will send the entire
document as a response.

How do i know if my server supports it?

rafiki
03-06-2008, 12:10 AM
test.php

if(isset($_SERVER['HTTP_RANGE'])){
echo 'its set';
}else{
echo 'Doesnt look like it';
}

??

cesarcesar
02-01-2009, 10:26 PM
Still looking for info on this subject. thanks.

demtron
02-01-2009, 11:14 PM
Maybe this will help you.

http://www.justskins.com/forums/resume-downloads-81296.html

cesarcesar
02-02-2009, 07:36 AM
@demtron - thanks for the link, but i have seen it and tried the code.. no worky.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum