PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone tell me why this bit of code isn't working?

samuurai
03-04-2008, 01:41 AM
I'm trying to make a contact list with group memberships. I'm a fairly novice programmer, so please can someone take a quick look and see if you can spot the error(s)!?

Here's my code:

<?php

$sql = "SELECT `group` FROM groups";
//echo ">" . $sql . "<br>";
$result2 = mysql_query($sql);

$sql = "SELECT `group_id` FROM groups";
$result = mysql_query($sql);
$group_id = mysql_fetch_array($result);

while($groups = mysql_fetch_array($result2)) {

?><input type="checkbox" name="group[]" value="<? echo $groups['group']; ?>" <?php
$sql = "SELECT `group_id` from groups WHERE `group`=" . '"' . $groups['group'] . '"';
$tmp = mysql_fetch_array($result);
$group_id = $tmp['group_id'];

$sql = "SELECT `group_id` FROM groupmembership WHERE `contact_id`=" . $_GET['id'];
$groupmem_ids = mysql_fetch_array($result);

if(in_array($group_id, $groupmem_ids)) {
echo "checked";
}

echo ">" . $groups['group'] . "<br>";
}
?>

For some reason it produces this:

[ ] Gaynors List
[x]Regulars
[ ]New Customer

the only one ticked is Regulars, but in the groupmembership table, the contact is associated with all three of these group_id's.

Also, is there a better way to do this? I kind've thin this would be a fairly heavy load on DB servers.

Thanks a lot guys!

Beren

Fumigator
03-04-2008, 02:27 AM
You have 4 queries where you only need one. You want your query to return a list of all groups, plus a bonus column to indicate if the current user (represented by $_GET['id']) belongs to that group (represented by a row in the groupmembership table).

So... try this...

SELECT group, gm.group_id
FROM groups AS g
LEFT JOIN groupmembership AS gm
ON g.group_id = gm.group_id
AND gm.contact_id = '{$_GET['id']}'
ORDER BY group