...

View Full Version : Dreamweaver 8 Pop-up menu problem in Firefox



horsesense
02-21-2008, 06:18 AM
Can anyone help with a problem I am having with the pop-up menu in Dreamweaver 8? In Firefox, when I roll the mouse over the drop down menu items, I loose the “Hand” cursor; it turns into a regular select-text cursor. (It looks fine in IE.) Thank you!

abduraooft
02-21-2008, 06:57 AM
Can you show a link to your page or the relevant code ? (use [code] to wrap when you post your code here)

horsesense
02-21-2008, 06:59 AM
http://southwestsound.com/index2.html
What do you think? Thank you!

abduraooft
02-21-2008, 07:14 AM
Your menu looks very complex and uses a lot of tags, and depends mainly on JS.
I believe you can replace your menu to a CSS driven. Have al look at Son of Suckerfish Dropdowns (http://www.htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/)

horsesense
02-21-2008, 07:24 AM
Thank you Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam. I've created this other site in DW8 that doesn't have this glitch in FF: http://dralanjohnson.com/. Curious!

abduraooft
02-21-2008, 07:31 AM
ha.. ha.. its not my name BTW,

horsesense
02-21-2008, 07:31 AM
oops. I just realized you are quoting Dr. Abdul Kalam. Sorry.

abduraooft
02-21-2008, 07:39 AM
Thank you Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam. I've created this other site in DW8 that doesn't have this glitch in FF: http://dralanjohnson.com/. Curious!
May be, personally I use firebug (http://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/1843) to debug such situations in firefox, but here it seems to be very hard to find out the problems. There will be an accessibility issue when peple use your site using a browser with no javascript support. However suckerfish drop downs works on the basis of CSS and there is no such problem atleast for FF,Opera, Safari etc.

again, you have used plenty of tables for your layout, have a look at Why tables for layout is stupid: problems defined, solutions offered (http://www.hotdesign.com/seybold/)

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-21-2008, 07:50 AM
I agree with the above posts though you can fix this by going to mm_menu.js and finding this line

l.style.cursor = "hand";
and changing it to

l.style.cursor = "pointer";

horsesense
02-21-2008, 08:01 AM
OH MY GOODNESS!! THIS DID IT!!! Oh, thank you, thank you Aerospace Eng! How simple that was and I'm so grateful to you.

Thank you again to abduraooft too, as I DO need to move more into CSS, and I've bookmarked your links.

I'm grateful to you both!!
Horsesense.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum