View Full Version : IE is killing me! I need help coding my ff site for it...

02-19-2008, 06:16 PM
IE is killing me! I need help coding for it... So I am totally new to web design and love doing it. All of the sites that I have made I make in ff, and they look great—or at least they look the way that I intended for them to look. Then when I open then in IE they look terrible. Things jump around, things disappear-- needless to say, things fall apart. So aside from panicing, I took to the web, where I found out about this <!--[if IE]> <![endif]--> trick as well as the display inline trick. So now I have two sets of css for my page and the html. The only problem is that I cant get my html to recognize this if IE trick... HELP! I have no clue how to fix this. Any and all suggestions are more then welcome. If seeing the code would help I can throw that up here to, please, anyone... I am super grateful for you taking the time to read through this and I hope that you can help me out.

02-19-2008, 06:17 PM
yeah, go ahead and throw up the code, but a link would be better!!

02-19-2008, 06:33 PM
A link is even better! The site is http://www.momatx.com/test/ and the css is http://www.momatx.com/test/css/homecss.css (ff) and http://www.momatx.com/test/css/homecss2.css (ie)
there is also the same problem for the rest of the pages, though I am guessing that the fix will be the same for either? Thanks so much againg for taking the time to look this over for me!

02-19-2008, 07:19 PM
Hmm this partially your fault for using an incomplete doctype. Change this

to this

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
And get rid of the IE stylesheet as you probably won't need it anymore.

After doing that check out the validator (http://validator.w3.org).

02-19-2008, 08:16 PM
_Aerospace_Eng_ thank you for taking the time to look over my problem! So I tried what you recommended and I still cant seem to get it to work on IE. Another thing that was strange was that when I used the validator (thank you for that by the way!) the only errors were instructing me to add elements that were clearly already there in my code. I know that I am an annoying noob, but anything you can think of that might fix this code would be most appreciated. Thanks again for taking the time!

02-19-2008, 10:00 PM
If anyone has any ideas I am willing to try anything... This is not a pay job unfortunatly, I am just trying to get some sites done so that I have a portfolio. Thoughts? Suggestions?? Help?!?

02-19-2008, 10:07 PM
i dont see much of a difference anymore, what other problems are going on? I am using IE7!!

02-19-2008, 11:11 PM
Thanks so much for getting back to me!! I may or may not be freaking out a little bit... Interesting, I am using IE 5 and there is still spacing issues with the menu and the image as well as with the hovers. Any thoughts??

02-19-2008, 11:13 PM
Wait what? IE5 for what system? You are going to have a heck of a time trying to get it to work there. If its IE5 for windows then you will need to adjust your conditional comment to include IE5 only rather than all versions of IE. If its IE5 for Mac then your conditional comments won't work as they were created for IE on windows only.

02-19-2008, 11:14 PM
IE5? Wow, im not sure though. I dont have access to IE5 but im pretty sure most users dont use it. Does it look absolutely horrible in IE5? If it doesnt i wouldnt be to concerened!! Good luck though!

02-19-2008, 11:58 PM
Thanks for taking the time none the less. I just check it with IE6 too and that one is messed up as well. Does anyone that has IE5 or IE6 think that they can help me out with this issue?? Especially the hover issues??

02-20-2008, 12:01 AM
I am currently working on a mac, though I also have a PC. What do you all think, is it better to worry about IE on PC? Most likely, right? As long as this ends up working on most computers I am happy.

02-20-2008, 12:19 AM
replace this div with the existing and see if it helps!!

#pic {
background-image: url("../images/pic.jpg");
padding: 0px;
height: 250px;

margin-top: 20px;
border: 0px;


let me know

02-20-2008, 12:32 AM
For the second time get RID of your IE stylesheet and see what happens.

02-20-2008, 12:53 AM
I tried to get rid of the IE style sheet for a second time. It still looks exactly the same as before. That was originally my concern was that I could not get IE to recognize the other style sheet... I am currently also trying your advice jcdevelopment. I will let you know how it goes in a minute. Thank you both so much for your continued assistance!

02-20-2008, 01:03 AM
Your IE stylesheet should only contain the things that need to be changed. It shouldn't contain your whole stylesheet. It actually looks the same in IE7 as it does in Firefox now without the IE stylesheet. As I said before you need to be more specific with it meaning you should specify which version of IE is messed up. http://www.quirksmode.org/css/condcom.html

02-20-2008, 01:06 AM
So I tried your suggestion jcdevelopment and it seems to help with IE, only now in ff the image is tiled behind other two divs... Any further suggestions?? I posted the new css.

02-20-2008, 01:12 AM
ok, so when I do try to fix something, should I address that issue as if there is no styling, or should I try to alter what I see. For example if I want to make the image on the homepage even with the menu, should I work off from where the current css puts it or start over fresh with new css?

02-20-2008, 02:03 AM
Start with the current part that messes it up though as I said before without the IE stylesheet IE7 looked fine. I have IE6 but I don't feel like booting up Virtual PC just to get to it.

02-20-2008, 02:11 AM
Fair enough. Thanks so much for all of your help!!!