...

View Full Version : PHP Error Messages



masey
02-19-2008, 09:04 AM
I am receiving a number of PHP error messages showing at the top of a new site I am working on for a client.

http://www.motherzzbuzz.com.au/index.php

I am aware that you should be able to turn off the display of these error messages via the "display_errors" variable in the "php.ini" file.

That being said, the "php.ini" file I have placed in my root directory is as follows:




allow_url_fopen = off
register_globals = off
display_errors = off
display_startup_errors = off



Firstly, is my "php.ini" file right? And secondly, why isn't it working if it is correct?

Thanks in advance.

Inigoesdr
02-19-2008, 09:38 AM
You need to use the .htaccess file (http://php.net/configuration.changes), or ini_set() (http://php.net/ini_set) to change those values. You might also want to look into why your copy protection code is causing errors to begin with.

StupidRalph
02-19-2008, 11:25 AM
I am receiving a number of PHP error messages showing at the top of a new site I am working on for a client.

http://www.motherzzbuzz.com.au/index.php

I am aware that you should be able to turn off the display of these error messages via the "display_errors" variable in the "php.ini" file.

That being said, the "php.ini" file I have placed in my root directory is as follows:




allow_url_fopen = off
register_globals = off
display_errors = off
display_startup_errors = off



Firstly, is my "php.ini" file right? And secondly, why isn't it working if it is correct?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Pal, long time no see. I hope you don't have any more weather scripts to debug. :p

I'd also change those settings via an .htaccess file. I'm not sure of your setup, but with one of my hosting solutions, if you were to put your own php.ini file it would take precedence over the default thats already loaded. So all the values that are not included in your new php.ini reset to their default values and not whats in the other .ini file.

aedrin
02-19-2008, 10:30 PM
More importantly, I'd figure out the errors as Inigoesdr said.

If that is not your script, I don't know if I'd use it. Especially not since PHP code protection schemes are easily avoided. And any company that invested time/money into something like that probably realizes it has little value in its product (i.e. there should be free alternatives).

deamonlizard
02-19-2008, 10:38 PM
Hi masey

The best way to see if your settings in the php.ini file "took" is to put a file in the root directory of your site and place the following code in it:


<?
php_info();
?>

Load that in your browser and search for "php.ini". It will tell you where php.ini got loaded from.

Using this method is also very helpful if you start fiddling around with php setting in an .htaccess file - as you can double check that those changes you made is indeed "seen" by php

Hope this helps

D



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum