...

View Full Version : layout issue



tjsrex17
02-03-2008, 08:42 PM
First, I am really new to making websites, so I'm not exactly sure what information you might need to help me fix this problem.

Anyways, I have been building my website with joomla. I took a free template and basically went in and swapped out a lot of images and changed the basic colors of things until I got the feel I wanted. (My photoshop skills are A LOT better than my coding skills.)

Now the problem. Some of the components are not loading correctly.

Here's what it's doing: Click Here (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/tjsrex/problem.jpg?t=1202070999)

The template is made up of all DIV's.

my friend told me to look for the template.css file and find where the problem is happening and then make sure the alignment moves it to the top...but I haven't been able to find out what to change and I have literally looked for hours.

Any help would be amazing! If not ill just keep messing with it...

www.thegamershome.com is the site if you need to preview source.

oesxyl
02-03-2008, 09:06 PM
First, I am really new to making websites, so I'm not exactly sure what information you might need to help me fix this problem.

Anyways, I have been building my website with joomla. I took a free template and basically went in and swapped out a lot of images and changed the basic colors of things until I got the feel I wanted. (My photoshop skills are A LOT better than my coding skills.)

Now the problem. Some of the components are not loading correctly.

Here's what it's doing: Click Here (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/tjsrex/problem.jpg?t=1202070999)

The template is made up of all DIV's.

my friend told me to look for the template.css file and find where the problem is happening and then make sure the alignment moves it to the top...but I haven't been able to find out what to change and I have literally looked for hours.

Any help would be amazing! If not ill just keep messing with it...

www.thegamershome.com is the site if you need to preview source.

the problem start in html markup, is invalid:

http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thegamershome.com%2F

try to fix it first and after if you still need, post results to fix css.
unfortunately I can't help with joomla.

best regards

tjsrex17
02-03-2008, 10:21 PM
interesting, I'm not to sure were to find <ul>...don't really even know what that is. I tried to fix a <div> problem, I just took the code out, it said its not a problem anymore. One of the errors it's giving me is with the </body> tag...don't really understand what could be wrong with that.

The weird thing with my problem is that it only happens on certain components and depends on their theme. It basically forces a section of the component below the navigation bar on the left. Basically their is an invisible line, If I add more things to the navigation bar and it gets longer, the block gets pushed down further...

Ill keep trying to figure out how to fix those problems though. Not sure it will fix my problem, but I need to fix that anyways.

oesxyl
02-03-2008, 10:33 PM
interesting, I'm not to sure were to find <ul>...don't really even know what that is. I tried to fix a <div> problem, I just took the code out, it said its not a problem anymore. One of the errors it's giving me is with the </body> tag...don't really understand what could be wrong with that.

The weird thing with my problem is that it only happens on certain components and depends on their theme. It basically forces a section of the component below the navigation bar on the left. Basically their is an invisible line, If I add more things to the navigation bar and it gets longer, the block gets pushed down further...

sorry, I have no idea about joomla. Try somewhere where joomla is more familiar and after fixing come back for css or simply to post how you fix it, this could help somebody else.



Ill keep trying to figure out how to fix those problems though. Not sure it will fix my problem, but I need to fix that anyways.
probably you are right and after you still need to ajust using css, but if you try before fixing html you'll spend a lot of time and mess a lot of thing around.

best regards

tjsrex17
02-05-2008, 12:29 AM
Ok, I found out what I need to edit, I think. You can probably help me with this :).

Now when I edit the section it puts what I want at the top, BUT the section goes over another section and off of the page....

Click Here to see what I mean... (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/tjsrex/problem2.jpg?t=1202152798)

this is what I did:

#main-column {

background: #0f2238;
}

#main-column .padding {

padding: 8px;
}

#main-column .inner {
background: #0f171f;
padding: 4px;
}

#main-column .contentpadding {
position:absolute;top:300px;
padding: 8px;

any suggestions?

oesxyl
02-05-2008, 12:53 AM
please use [ code] and [ /code] tags to post code.

- don't use absolute positioning, it don't help
- you have in page something like below, remove it:


<div class="clr"/>


best regards

tjsrex17
02-05-2008, 12:59 AM
ok, I'm sorry :( didn't know. Ill try that.

and I found

<div class="clr">
in two places on my main template, removed them both, and the problem is still their. The components themselves have templates also and I think they have the same thing. Ill try taking them out of there too.

oesxyl
02-05-2008, 01:06 AM
ok, I'm sorry :( didn't know. Ill try that.

is no problem, :), it's just more easy to read.

I post few days until I see that others post's look diferent, :)

best regards

tjsrex17
02-06-2008, 01:24 PM
hmm, I guess there aren't any files like that in the actual component folders...that sucks. means I am back to square one.

Do you have any idea why the left side bar would be affecting the main column by any chance? maybe it's something I need to change with that and not the middle. I made the position relative top with the width auto and it didn't move at all, got rid of both the div Clr's and nothing happend...so I am running out of options. :confused:

oesxyl
02-06-2008, 10:10 PM
hmm, I guess there aren't any files like that in the actual component folders...that sucks. means I am back to square one.

Do you have any idea why the left side bar would be affecting the main column by any chance? maybe it's something I need to change with that and not the middle. I made the position relative top with the width auto and it didn't move at all, got rid of both the div Clr's and nothing happend...so I am running out of options. :confused:
the page have again, if you fix it, invalid markup and the div with clr is still there.
Probably the framework generate it by the fly, I don't know because I don't know how it work.

I'm sorry but I have no idea how to fix that.

best regards



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum