...

View Full Version : what should i be writeing my asp in?



Bluemonkey
01-18-2003, 03:07 PM
should i be useing

<%@LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT" CODEPAGE="1252"%>

or

<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="1252"%>


whats the difference between them??

thank you

Bluemonkey
01-18-2003, 03:11 PM
and if it was in vbscript mode would i be able to run javascript properally in side the page of cources if its in its <script> tags

whammy
01-18-2003, 03:49 PM
VBScript, and Yes. :)

Bluemonkey
01-18-2003, 05:23 PM
thank you

Morgoth
01-18-2003, 11:53 PM
whammy, for what reason do people use that at the begining of their code? The only thing I use is Option Explicit, and that is only to make sure I have the variables defined. What does telling the server the language accomplish if your extention is .ASP?
Would I be able to use ASP code inside of an html page if I added that line in?

whammy
01-19-2003, 07:49 PM
Not sure, I just learned it that way...

Morgoth
01-20-2003, 12:42 AM
So you write everything with that line at the top?
I don't understand it, It doesn't allow me to do anything with ASP out side of the ASP extention.

Not sure what it does, myself, but someone must know. Unless it's one of those meta tag type things. Not needed, but allowes a system to read it better. (Maybe faster)

whammy
01-20-2003, 03:05 AM
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/iisref/html/psdk/asp/dire0bz9.asp

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/iisref/html/psdk/asp/iiwabasi.asp

Morgoth
01-20-2003, 06:44 AM
It still doesn't allow me to use ASP on other extentions.
So I feel the use of it, really doesn't have need for concern, do you?

Roelf
01-20-2003, 07:41 AM
I've done a lot of asp scripting in JScript, i always put the language directive in my pages, because if the server isn't controlled by yourself, you dont know what the server administrator will do with the default scripting language in IIS. If suddenly he sets it as JScript (for whatever reason) and the language directive is not there, your site doesnt work anymore.

If you want to use the asp interpreter on other file extensions, you have to set this in IIS. One of the tabs in the properties dialog sets the actions for the different extensions.

Morgoth
01-20-2003, 08:11 PM
One of those extension takes tell me, I need to upgrade...




The web is ruuning an old version of the server extensions. To update the server extensions choose Upgrade Extensions from the Task menu for this server.









(version unknown)


And then when I click on the botton to get the new extensions, I get a popup saying:



There is no web named "".

Roelf
01-20-2003, 08:20 PM
now i get the idea we talk about different things. You seem to talk about frontpage server extensions , i was talking about using different file extensions than asp, when you want to handle filename.foo as an asp file for example

Morgoth
01-20-2003, 09:06 PM
Well, either way, don't you need to adjust the server this the front page extensions area to be able to use ASP in .foo?

I thought this was the area, and I can't access it. Am I wrong? What area is it that I need to get into to change that setting. Do you know for sure?

oracleguy
01-21-2003, 03:21 AM
Originally posted by Morgoth
Well, either way, don't you need to adjust the server this the front page extensions area to be able to use ASP in .foo?

I thought this was the area, and I can't access it. Am I wrong? What area is it that I need to get into to change that setting. Do you know for sure?

No, the frontpage extensions have nothing to do with the extensions parsed by ASP.

You change that under 'Home Directory' on the site or VD properties. Then goto 'Configuration' under application settings. Then under 'Mappings' is where you can change those settings.


And for the language directive, it is sorta like dimensioning variables only if you are coding the ASP page in the servers default ASP language. If you don't specify one, the default one is used. You should add it especially if you are distributing the ASP pages to people because they may for some reason have their default set diffrent.

Now if you wish to change the default if you go to the window mentioned in the directions above and then go to the 'Options' tab there is a thing for the default ASP language.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum