...

View Full Version : is it possible to hide a <select> drop-down arrow?



Leeoniya
01-24-2008, 02:48 PM
the arrow takes up space and in small select boxes containing few characters it's just plain ugly, and it's not always necessary for a user to know that it is a selectable list until they click on it anyhow. and there are plenty of other ways to indicate that it is a user interactive element. eg border styles, background or font color.

i'm NOT looking for IE compatibility since this is for an internal webapp. anything FF3 supports would be fine.

otherwise i will resort to a javascript selectable popout list attached to a "disabled" input type="text" element, styled to look not disabled.
thanks.

VIPStephan
01-24-2008, 03:31 PM
Short answer: no.

Longer answer: Only with some advanced scripting. Select elements have among the least possibilities of styling. You might wanna look into niceforms (http://www.badboy.ro/articles/2007-01-30/niceforms/).

rmedek
01-24-2008, 05:20 PM
it's not always necessary for a user to know that it is a selectable list until they click on it anyhow

For what it's worth I don't agree with thisÖI think most of what makes a select element perfect for its use is the fact that it's immediately obvious. I do think most arrows are ugly though. I am a big fan of the styled version used by apps like Blinksale (see screeny).

VIPStephan
01-24-2008, 06:07 PM
I am a big fan of the styled version used by apps like Blinksale (see screeny).

That’s the usual Apple (Cocoa) style, nothing specific to Blinksale, is it?

rmedek
01-24-2008, 06:27 PM
No, Apple's system style is Aqua…which I don't mind so much, it's the Firefox and Windows rendered select elements that I think are unattractive.

VIPStephan
01-24-2008, 06:37 PM
Yeah, sorry, I meant Aqua, not Cocoa. But in case you havenít noticed: Safari 3 is out and allows limited styling of form controls :) http://particletree.com/notebook/design-friendly-select-elements-in-safari-3/
http://particletree.com/examples/safari3/drop3.png

rmedek
01-24-2008, 11:40 PM
Well, son-of-a-gun. This whole time I assumed Blinksale was using a JS-replaced select element for those menus. Thanks for the tip!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum