...

View Full Version : insert Block elements



MAXX
01-17-2003, 02:05 PM
hello folks, my first (and not the last :) ) post here... so be gentle

I have one problem (for now). I want to insert into html page a Block element, but i don't know if that is possible.
Well if I could know the ascii code for it, than there should be no problem (i think) ..but ... i don't know it :(

thanx in advance fot any ideas ..

maxx

redhead
01-17-2003, 04:33 PM
a block element, eh? <div> ... </div> will create a block element, just put it in wherever you want it. you can style it (eg, change its colour, its borders, its width etc) by using style="whatever" in the tag, and do some more with it too... its quite a useful tag.

whammy
01-18-2003, 01:26 AM
So that's what a "block element" is? Geez I've been using that for awhile to make my pages XHTML compliant! I just went by the error messages on:

http://www.w3.org

When validating a page. However it looks like they recently updated their validator and it no longer works at all... ;)

Someone should probably let them know that their validator is broken...

I love this, for instance:



DOCTYPE Override in effect! Any DOCTYPE Declaration in the document has been suppressed and the DOCTYPE for XHTML 1.1 inserted instead. The document will not be Valid until you alter the source file to reflect this new DOCTYPE.


And I actually chose their XHTML 1.1 option from the dropdown, which I adhere to strictly. Not only does it no longer validate my page (which should pass validation), it just doesn't do anything. Sigh. I think it's a sad state of affairs when the flagship for standards goes to heck.

meow
01-18-2003, 01:43 AM
Block lever element = an element that forms a block. P, TD, LI, BLOCKQUOTE, DIV...
Inline element = does nor form a block, 'text level elements'. EM, STRONG, FONT, B, SPAN...

The message just warns you that when you choose a DTD from the dropdown it will override whatever DTD that is in the actual document.

MAXX
01-18-2003, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by redhead
a block element, eh? <div> ... </div> will create a block element, just put it in wherever you want it. you can style it (eg, change its colour, its borders, its width etc) by using style="whatever" in the tag, and do some more with it too... its quite a useful tag.

first thanx for advice .... will try with <div>

Can anybody tell me how to get the block element from ASCII table?? Is this possible with CHR(number)?

I work with program MAGIC, and my output from that program is a html document. So I want to input a block element from the ASCII code that I find it when I look in MS Word. If you look in MS Word for all symbols from font "Arial" then you could see also block elements .... and now I dont know how to get one of that block elements to a html file.

I hope you understand what I want :)

maxx

meow
01-18-2003, 12:53 PM
Dude, I fear your block elements are something totally different than those we suggest. :eek:

Care to explain? I'm a Word retard and it obviously isn't HTML elements that you talk about. :(



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum