...

View Full Version : Why are images not displaying??



Poley
01-14-2008, 04:23 PM
Hi,

Please can someone let me know why the images are not displaying on the following page:

www.usip.co.uk/index6 (http://www.usip.co.uk/index6)

There should be a big photo of the American flag down the left hand side of the page but the browser is totally ignoring it.

They were showing a while ago but have now disappeared.
Any ideas?

Thanks!
Rich

sobrien79
01-14-2008, 04:42 PM
Is the server mime type correct? Are you sure that images/usflag.jpg is an image and not an html file that you change the name to? Because when I go the the url below, an html page is returned. Not an image. Also, the same goes for the stylesheet.

http://www.usip.co.uk/index6/images/usflag.jpg
http://www.usip.co.uk/index6/css/style.css

Also, side note, you might want to fix a couple things too.

bgcolour"#989999" should be bgcolor="#989999"

The following link tag should not have a bgcolor value assigned to it.
<link href="css/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" bgcolor="#989999" media="all" />

Hope this helps.

Poley
01-14-2008, 04:46 PM
Thanks for the reply.

The page should be an html file (which it is) but should have images displayed on it. Down the left hand side there should be a US flag above the business address info but there isn't. I don't know why they are not being displayed...

Any help is most appreciated.

p.s thanks for the note on the bg colour.

Excavator
01-14-2008, 05:08 PM
Good morning Poley,
It seems your path is wrong.
Your markup is loading images from http://www.usip.co.uk/images/ but no such path exists on your server.

Apostropartheid
01-14-2008, 05:33 PM
You shouldn't be using bgcolor at all.

What the hell's the point in using CSS if you're not at least going to do the basic things?

Poley
01-14-2008, 06:50 PM
Thank you! very simple mistake...It works now.

But I have another question...
I'm trying to link www.usip.co.uk/index8 (http://www.usip.co.uk/index8)
to www.usip.co.uk/properties.php (http://www.usip.co.uk/properties.php)
but when I try to put the link in on the html page it always shows the actual text for the link - properties.php.

How can I get it to look like a regular link but instead of going to an HTML page, it goes to a PHP page?

Thanks again

Rich

Apostropartheid
01-14-2008, 07:19 PM
HyperT....in fact just look at the code.

<a href="/properties.php" title="Properties">Properties</a>
The same for any link.

Poley
01-14-2008, 08:03 PM
cool. it works now...

but last problem...

I have the HTML code:


<FORM ACTION="http://www.usip.co.uk/contact.php" METHOD="post">

And this is the PHP code:


<?PHP
######################################################
# #
# Forms To Go 3.1.1 #
# http://www.bebosoft.com/ #
# #
######################################################

######################################################
# #
# UNREGISTERED VERSION #
# #
######################################################



DEFINE('kOptional', True);
DEFINE('kMandatory', False);




error_reporting(E_ERROR | E_WARNING | E_PARSE);
ini_set('track_errors', true);

function DoStripSlashes($FieldValue)
{
if ( get_magic_quotes_gpc() ) {
if (is_array($FieldValue) ) {
return array_map('DoStripSlashes', $FieldValue);
} else {
return stripslashes($FieldValue);
}
} else {
return $FieldValue;
}
}

#----------
# FilterCChars:

function FilterCChars($TheString)
{
return preg_replace('/[\x00-\x1F]/', '', $TheString);
}

#----------
# Validate: Email

function check_email($email, $optional)
{
if ( (strlen($email) == 0) && ($optional === true) ) {
return true;
} elseif ( eregi("^[_a-z0-9-]+(\.[_a-z0-9-]+)*@[a-z0-9-]+(\.[a-z0-9-]+)*(\.[a-z]{2,4})$", $email) ) {
return true;
} else {
return false;
}
}



if (isset($_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR'])) {
$ClientIP = $_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR'];
} else {
$ClientIP = $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];
}

$FTGname = DoStripSlashes( $_REQUEST['name'] );
$FTGtel = DoStripSlashes( $_REQUEST['tel'] );
$FTGemail = DoStripSlashes( $_REQUEST['email'] );
$FTGmessage = DoStripSlashes( $_REQUEST['message'] );


# Fields Validations

$ValidationFailed = false;

if (!check_email($FTGemail, kMandatory)) {
$ValidationFailed = true;
}


# Include message in error page and dump it to the browser

if ($ValidationFailed === true) {

$ErrorPage = '<html><head><title>Error</title></head><body>';
$ErrorPage .= 'Errors found: <!--VALIDATIONERROR-->';
$ErrorPage .= '</body></html>';

$ErrorPage = str_replace('<!--VALIDATIONERROR-->', $ErrorList, $ErrorPage);

$ErrorPage = str_replace('<!--FIELDVALUE:name-->', $FTGname, $ErrorPage);
$ErrorPage = str_replace('<!--FIELDVALUE:tel-->', $FTGtel, $ErrorPage);
$ErrorPage = str_replace('<!--FIELDVALUE:email-->', $FTGemail, $ErrorPage);
$ErrorPage = str_replace('<!--FIELDVALUE:message-->', $FTGmessage, $ErrorPage);


echo $ErrorPage;
exit;

}
# Email to Form Owner

$emailSubject = FilterCChars("Feedback from JSay Member");

$emailBody = "Hi USIP\n"
. "\n"
. "\n"
. "Name : $FTGname\n"
. "Tel : $FTGtel\n"
. "Email : $FTGemail\n"
. "Message : $FTGmessage\n"
. "\n"
. "Thanks\n"
. "\n"
. "$FTGname\n"
. "";
$emailTo = "USIP <info@usip.co.uk>";

$emailFrom = FilterCChars("$FTGname");

$emailHeader = "From: $emailFrom\n"
. "Cc: JSay <rclayton20@hotmail.com>" . "\n"
. "MIME-Version: 1.0\n"
. "Content-type: text/plain; charset=\"ISO-8859-1\"\n"
. "Content-transfer-encoding: 8bit\n";

mail($emailTo, $emailSubject, $emailBody, $emailHeader);


# Redirect user to success page

header("Location: http://www.usip.co.uk/thankyou");
exit;
?>




Many thanks....

Apostropartheid
01-14-2008, 08:22 PM
But mate, what actually is the problem?

Poley
01-14-2008, 08:40 PM
Well, when I try to press submit and send a message through the form it doesn't work.

It just says 'Errors Found'

hope you can help with what the code should be for it all to work smoothly.

Thanks

Poley
01-15-2008, 09:25 AM
Can anyone help with the above contact form (in posting above this one) to get it to work properly?

Thanks

Rich

effpeetee
01-15-2008, 02:04 PM
According to the W3 validator, your site has 260 errors in the html

http://validator.w3.org/

Sorry! We found the following errors

CSS
URI : http://www.usip.co.uk/css/style.css
-1 File not foundhttp://www.usip.co.uk/css/style.css: Not Found



Frank

Jump To: Validation Output
This page is not Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!
Result: Failed validation, 260 Errors
Address:
Encoding: iso-8859-1 (detect automatically) utf-8 (Unicode, worldwide) utf-16 (Unicode, worldwide) iso-8859-1 (Western Europe) iso-8859-2 (Central Europe) iso-8859-3 (Southern Europe) iso-8859-4 (North European) iso-8859-5 (Cyrillic) iso-8859-6-i (Arabic) iso-8859-7 (Greek) iso-8859-8 (Hebrew, visual) iso-8859-8-i (Hebrew, logical) iso-8859-9 (Turkish) iso-8859-10 (Latin 6) iso-8859-11 (Latin/Thai) iso-8859-13 (Latin 7, Baltic Rim) iso-8859-14 (Latin 8, Celtic) iso-8859-15 (Latin 9) iso-8859-16 (Latin 10) us-ascii (basic English) euc-jp (Japanese, Unix) shift_jis (Japanese, Win/Mac) iso-2022-jp (Japanese, email) euc-kr (Korean) gb2312 (Chinese, simplified) gb18030 (Chinese, simplified) big5 (Chinese, traditional) Big5-HKSCS (Chinese, Hong Kong) tis-620 (Thai) koi8-r (Russian) koi8-u (Ukrainian) iso-ir-111 (Cyrillic KOI-8) macintosh (MacRoman) windows-1250 (Central Europe) windows-1251 (Cyrillic) windows-1252 (Western Europe) windows-1253 (Greek) windows-1254 (Turkish) windows-1255 (Hebrew) windows-1256 (Arabic) windows-1257 (Baltic Rim)
Doctype: XHTML 1.0 Transitional (detect automatically) XHTML 1.0 Strict XHTML 1.0 Transitional XHTML 1.0 Frameset HTML 4.01 Strict HTML 4.01 Transitional HTML 4.01 Frameset HTML 3.2 HTML 2.0 ISO/IEC 15445:2000 ("ISO HTML") XHTML 1.1 XHTML Basic 1.0 XHTML-Print 1.0 XHTML 1.1 plus MathML 2.0 XHTML 1.1 plus MathML 2.0 plus SVG 1.1 MathML 2.0 SVG 1.0 SVG 1.1 SVG 1.1 Tiny SVG 1.1 Basic SMIL 1.0 SMIL 2.0
Root Element: html
Root Namespace: http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml

ahallicks
01-15-2008, 02:44 PM
I take it you didn't write that PHP yourself? The error message is being displayed because according to that little script you posted, there are some errors with whatever you added in the form. It should tell you the errors via a print to the screen so you should know what the errors are?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum