...

View Full Version : php/GoDaddy conflict?



amp
12-31-2007, 05:54 PM
Although I'm learning PHP, I still use another programmer on my shopping cart. He sent this email to me this morning -


Could you check with GoDaddy and find out why this php command:
$_SERVER['HTTPS']

won't work with their server? It works beautifully on my server on a
test file, but as soon as I put the test file on your server at GoDaddy
it quits working.

Here's the whole code:

$self_url = sprintf('http%s://%s%s',
(isset($_SERVER['HTTPS']) && $_SERVER['HTTPS'] == TRUE ? 's': ''),
$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'],
$_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']
);

$isSSL=substr($self_url, 4, 1);

if ($isSSL=="s") echo "SSL"; else echo "nope!";


I did call GoDaddy and forwarded the email to them as well. They said they have no idea and couldn't offer any help.
What we're trying to fix:
On our payment page there were some images that were not secure and everynow and then we would get an email from a customer asking why our credit card payment page was not secure. So we changed all of the images to be secure and this somehow interfered with Google Analytics and we lost all analytics. I think the Analytics code was part of the footer.
So we are trying to have the secure payment page not have Analytics, be completely secure, and still have the rest of the site have Analytics. My website: http://diaperkit.com
I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

Fumigator
12-31-2007, 06:16 PM
Another reason to avoid Godaddy....

From the manual,

$_SERVER is an array containing information such as headers, paths, and script locations. The entries in this array are created by the web server. There is no guarantee that every web server will provide any of these; servers may omit some, or provide others not listed here. That said, a large number of these variables are accounted for in the CGI 1.1 specification, so you should be able to expect those.

That said, there's a user comment on this page (http://us.php.net/manual/en/reserved.variables.php) in the PHP manual that suggests an alternative. (Search the page for HTTPS to find it)

chump2877
12-31-2007, 06:59 PM
Fumigator, what's wrong with GoDaddy (for web hosting)?

I was thinking I might purchase some ASP.NET/MSSQL hosting from them for testing...Microsoft endorses them (or at least advertises for them)....Should I reconsider?

Thanks.

Fumigator
12-31-2007, 07:40 PM
My experience was poor. I would rate them 1 out of 5-- mostly because of what Amp here has learned-- the customer service is terrible. It seems to me they are mostly interested in inundating the internet with domain names that don't have meaningful websites behind them. I ran up against a brick wall every time I asked a question. Godaddy will not help you with any PHP related problem, bottom line.

The funny thing is, I thought they were pretty good, until I started using another hosting company, and was blown away by how much better Hostmonster (http://www.hostmonster.com/track/onlinefamilyconnection/cf) is at providing answers and working with me to solve a problem. Saving a couple of bucks on the domain registration is not worth it to me.

chump2877
12-31-2007, 08:19 PM
That's good to know. I emailed GoDaddy with some questions about their hosting, and their initial response was prompt, but they haven;t answered any of my emails since. Maybe it has something to do with the holidays, but there must be somebody there in the last week/week and a half who can assist me in a sale...:eek:

Hostmonster must run Linux servers only...I don;t see any ASP.NET/MSSQL hosting...

Would you happen to know of any solid ASP.NET/MSSQL hosting providers?

CFMaBiSmAd
12-31-2007, 10:19 PM
Create a .php file with a phpinfo(); statement in it and browse to this file to see what you are actually getting. Perhaps there is a different variable that is set for https requests.

Is there any chance that you are doing any .htaccess redirects so that a https request actually got redirected to a http page?

rfresh
12-31-2007, 10:32 PM
The problem with GoDaddy is that they put up too many barriers for you to get any work done on your site. I left them a long time ago and have never been sorry.

You want to use your third party MySQL tool? Too bad, they won't let you! You want to tunnel in and SSH your cron jobs? Too bad they won't let you.

You want to spend a fortune and get one of their semi-dedicated or (god forbid) one of their dedicated servers? Then be prepared for them to NOT answer one support question, not one.

Their semi and dedicated severs come with ZERO customer support...unless you pay 99.00 a month with a 3 month minimum.

I am now hosted at 1849webhosting.

StupidRalph
12-31-2007, 10:37 PM
The problem with GoDaddy is that they put up too many barriers for you to get any work done on your site. I left them a long time ago and have never been sorry.

You want to use your third party MySQL tool? Too bad, they won't let you! You want to tunnel in and SSH your cron jobs? Too bad they won't let you.

You want to spend a fortune and get one of their semi-dedicated or (god forbid) one of their dedicated servers? Then be prepared for them to NOT answer one support question, not one.

Their semi and dedicated severs come with ZERO customer support...unless you pay 99.00 a month with a 3 month minimum.

I am now hosted at 1849webhosting.
Thats to bad, I wanted both of those. :( But after they answered my specific technical questions with very general answers that seem to have plucked from a related knowledge base I didn't foresee a good future with them.

felgall
12-31-2007, 11:00 PM
My own experience of GoDaddy has been limited to one of my customers who was unable to get my Paypal IPN script to work on their hosting there and eventually gave me access so that I could investigate why a script that worked on dozens of other hosting providers didn't work there. Having finally tracked down the statement that didn't work, I was only able to finally resolve it thanks to the assistance of a Paypal staff member who provided me with the extra code needed to get the code working on GoDaddy which fortunately does not interfere with its working everywhere else as well.

With the way GoDaddy have their hosting configured, a lot of scripts would need to be coded slightly differently in order to work there compared to the way they would need to be coded to work anywhere else. They appear to have tried to divide the web hosting world into two where everyone apart from them works the same way and they do things differently (kind of reminds me of a certain web browser that does the same thing).

chump2877
01-01-2008, 06:35 AM
Holy crap! I'm glad I'm figuring this all out now (re: GoDaddy)...Will save me a ton of headaches in the future...

Thanks for the intel guys...And Happy New Year! :D



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum