...

View Full Version : My borders are wonky in IE



Dashwood
12-24-2007, 03:22 PM
I haven't touched my website in ages, but when I came to expand it recently I found the borders display wrongly in IE. Funny, I swear that when I first made the site I checked that it displayed correctly in IE and FF, but I must've tweaked/untweaked something along the way and now I don't have a clue what's wrong. I'm really out of practice on my CSS. Here it is:

www.sanguineplanet.com (http://www.sanguineplanet.com)

I'll probably be getting rid of the redundant bottom border. Maybe its better to make the background/border one big image?

Excavator
12-24-2007, 03:53 PM
Hello Dashwood - Merry Christmas!

In IE6 and IE7 the sundial breaks out of the borders.
In FF2 it all looks good.

This might fix it for you:

#mainbit {
padding: 0px 20px 45px 0px;
border:6px double #9A816D;
border-top: none;
width: 790px;
height: 499px;
background: black;
overflow: hidden;
}
====================================
Or you could just make the image a background for #mainbit.
Take image out of markup like this:


<div class="maintext" id="mainbit">
<!--removed sundial-->
<img alt="" src="logo.jpg" id="logo" height="110" width="324">
<div id="sakura"><a href="sakura.html"><img alt="" src="tnsaks.jpg" border="0" height="52" width="69"></a></div>
Then make your CSS look like this:
#mainbit {
padding: 0px 20px 45px 0px;
border:6px double #9A816D;
border-top: none;
width: 790px;
height: 499px;
background: #000 url(http://www.sanguineplanet.com/dial777.jpg) no-repeat right bottom;
}



/*#dial {position: absolute; left: 535px; top: 30px; z-index: 2;} this line can be deleted now*/


I used the full path to the image because that's easier on this end. You can edit that to (dial777.jpg) and it will work fine.

Dashwood
12-24-2007, 04:25 PM
I used the second one and it works a treat. Many thanks to you!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum