...

View Full Version : Does anyone have IE5.5 still? My site looks wrong in IE5.5 screenshot



moss2076
12-20-2007, 03:13 PM
Im designing my site using IE7 and latest versions of FireFox, Safari and Opera on my own machine, along with www.browsershots.org for screenprints of other browsers which I dont have or cannot use eg IE6, IE5.5 etc

My site looks fine in all of them apart from IE5.5, does anyone here have IE5.5 on their machine and who could have a look at my code and see if I need to use maybe an IE5 specific hack to correct the display problem?

www.siteoftom.com

In the browsershots.org screenshot for IE5.5 there is huge div drop problems with the main content and also the footer is stretched downwards.

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-20-2007, 03:50 PM
If you are using windows xp you can use http://tredosoft.com/Multiple_IE

moss2076
12-20-2007, 03:52 PM
Im on Vista, I have tried Multiple IE before and it wouldnt work on Vista :(

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-20-2007, 03:54 PM
I see. In that case you need to install Virtual PC 2007 and then use the VHDs provided by Microsoft which can be found here

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=21EABB90-958F-4B64-B5F1-73D0A413C8EF&displaylang=en

or you can just install Windows XP to a blank VHD and not have to worry about expiration. Its what I did but I just don't have the time to check the site, sorry.

moss2076
12-20-2007, 04:13 PM
Thanks, I do have VMWare with server 2003 and IE6 on it, can I put IE5.5 on server2003?

Thing is, my site looks ok in IE6, its IE5.5 which is giving me the headache.

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-20-2007, 04:17 PM
Just try it.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum