View Full Version : Tracks (Ruby On Rails)

Mat @ SWS
12-19-2007, 11:00 AM
Tried installing a program called Tracks ages ago (few months) and was almost successful. I did a manual install of Ruby and also Rails.

It never quite worked correctly, or in fact at all. Anyway, I fortmatted my Laptop about a month ago. So I tried installing the thing again. This time no success. When I load CMD and put in the command to install Rails (IIRC, sorry, i was following a video), it's supposed to connect to the server and download some files. But for some reason I was getting an error message saying that the server was down.

Anyway, long story short. Has anyone used Tracks? Or know how to get it installed? I also need Ruby on Rails installed. Is there a simple package or summat that I can just use?

Cheers guys,


ralph l mayo
12-19-2007, 06:00 PM
simple package: InstantRails (http://instantrails.rubyforge.org/wiki/wiki.pl)
if that doesn't work, details on installing the rails gems manually when the gem binary installer reports network problems: how to install rails on a windows pc (http://angrys0ul.com/blog/2007/04/25/how-to-install-ruby-on-rails-on-a-windows-pc/)
Tracks installs with the 'rake' build program, which means you unzip it and run 'rake.exe' (which should be int he instantrails folder or in the ruby/bin folder if you used the 'gem' installer) in the directory it makes with the file 'Rakefile'. If you can't get your problem sorted with those links or google you'll need to be much more specific about what your problem is--ie what commands you are running and what errors result.

Mat @ SWS
12-19-2007, 08:31 PM
cheers bud, i'll have a look at giving that a go when I get some spare time!

Mat @ SWS
12-30-2007, 09:23 PM
still not got it installed. I have Apache, MySQL and PHP all installed on my laptop. Ruby and Rails are prooving to be a nightmare!

Has anyone ever used "Tracks"? This is it: