...

View Full Version : Mirroring a site



thecoofunka
12-19-2007, 12:42 AM
Hi, I was wondering if I could mirror a site...or I don't know what the term for it is so i will explain. I was seeing if there is a code out there to have a site for example (www.example.freehosting.com) when you visit the site so it will show up in the address bar as something more like (www.whatever.com)

VIPStephan
12-19-2007, 01:42 AM
At first you have to be the owner of http://example.com to make it show up in the address bar (and show your website content at the same time), i.e. you need to buy that domain. Then what you want has been done with a frame(set) redirect in the past. However, this method isn’t recommended as it isn’t very accessible. The URL effect that you want is exactly one of the problems arising with this method because you’re detaining the actual URL and users can’t directly access any page since they only see the domain in the address bar.

I’d say if you want http://example.com to show up then get a decent web space/hosting plan. They are really cheap nowadays. And if you’re not willing to get decent hosting but wanna have everything for free then also get used to having a free domain name with all the drawbacks of it.

Excavator
12-19-2007, 02:15 AM
Hello thecoofunka,
If you already have hosting then you probably have a domain that resolves there.
Say your website is http://myweb.com
Now you go and buy a new domain, mysecondweb.com.

You can access mysecondweb.com a couple different ways

Most hosting accounts allow you a few (10 seems typical) AddOn Domains. That makes the address accessible with http://mysecondweb.myweb.com or http://myweb.com/mysecondweb.com but in the addressbar on the browser it looks like http://myweb.com/mysecondweb.com.
The only way to get the actual domain to show in the addressbar like you want is to purchase a Domain Pointer. Then your existing hosting account holds the files for mysecondweb.com and you access them with http://mysecondweb.com.

Or you could go get another host for your second domain.

I have never seen the Frame redirect that VIP is talking about.

twodayslate
12-19-2007, 04:19 AM
http://www.howtoforge.com/mirroring_with_rsync

Hope that helps!

thecoofunka
12-19-2007, 07:12 AM
I mean I know I have seen it done before. When you go to a URL say www,,mydomain,,com it's the same webpage but the URL shows as www,,example,,com

spietreser
12-19-2007, 11:23 AM
How about just using a frame? Most domain registrars provide this kind of URL forwarding, so that hosting isn't necessary. If you have hosting, you can use the following code.


<html>
<head>
<title>Your title</title>
</head>
<frameset framespacing="0" border="false" frameborder="0" cols="*">
<frame name="frame_main" src="http://www.example.freehosting.com" scrolling="auto">
<noframes>
<h3>Welcome to www.whatever.com.</h3>
<p>Click <a href="http://www.example.freehosting.com">here</a> to proceed</p>
</noframes>
</html>

Bear in mind that with URL forwarding (see code above), the search engines won't pick up your whatever.com domain, but the example.freehosting.com. That's a huge disadvantage if you want to look professional to your visitors.

Cheers,
spietreser

Apostropartheid
12-19-2007, 04:12 PM
I'm sure it would be possible with variable PHP includes and some modifications to .htaccess.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum