...

View Full Version : firefox and ie



dimeuleh
11-07-2007, 02:48 AM
Hey guys,

I am making a site at the moment and to make sure i get the end result I keep checking between firefox and internet explorer. Now firefox is being a absolute #$%! when it comes to this cause everything that looks perfect in internet explorer is just messed up in firefox.

why is this? is there something i am doing wrong?

dimeuleh
11-07-2007, 02:58 AM
also is there like a command to force load style sheets in firefox or something along the lines?

CaptainB
11-07-2007, 08:04 AM
It would be kinda handy with a link to the site and your code..

_Aerospace_Eng_
11-07-2007, 02:55 PM
Hey guys,

I am making a site at the moment and to make sure i get the end result I keep checking between firefox and internet explorer. Now firefox is being a absolute #$%! when it comes to this cause everything that looks perfect in internet explorer is just messed up in firefox.

why is this? is there something i am doing wrong?

Chances are though, your coding is poor. Firefox shows you what you code for the most part. IE shows you what it thinks you want to see.

VIPStephan
11-07-2007, 02:59 PM
Chances are though, your coding is poor. Firefox shows you what you code for the most part. IE shows you what it thinks you want to see.

Exactly. Never use IE as primary reference because this is a pile of crap. If you would test further you would see that itís probably also screwed up in Opera, Netscape, Konqueror, Safari, Camino, and what not. And Iím sure itís not because they are all wrong, and IE is the only one that gets it.

Run your site through the validator (http://validator.w3.org) and see what it says.

srule_
11-07-2007, 04:27 PM
Design your sites in firfox then fix for IE and other browsers.

When I 1st started coding I would have lots of fixes, and designed my sites in IE. But if your start making sites in Firefox with valid code you will see that most of the time the site displays nearly perfect in other browsers minus a few display issues that are easy to fix.

It just takes some practice!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum