...

View Full Version : Background image appeard and disappears - randomly



marcus1060
10-30-2007, 09:56 AM
On this page http://coreengineeringservices.com/index.php sometimes the image for the top of the grey box on left randomly disappears.
And it takes several refreshes to make it come back, but even then it usually stays for only a while.

Here's an example of it missing:
http://im.noveis.net/wtf.png

Here's the image that should be there:
http://coreengineeringservices.com/style/large-top.png

The issue seems to be only in Firefox on Windows. Not Firefox on Linux, or IE 6 or 7, or even Grand Pardiso Alpha for that matter.
But it does happen on more than on PC.

I'm stumped, so if anyone could help me out it would be much appreciated!!

Kor
10-30-2007, 11:24 AM
I can not reproduce the issue. I understand that, sometimes, due to the heavy pictures download, some of the images might not have been downloaded (that means you must optimize and reduce the size of your pictures). But, to me, it looks impossible to get a picture lost after it was visible at the beginning, once it is downloaded in the browser's cache...

Fang
10-30-2007, 11:24 AM
Had no problem with that in Fx, but the logo.png does not always appear.

Arbitrator
10-30-2007, 11:41 AM
On this page http://coreengineeringservices.com/index.php sometimes the image for the top of the grey box on left randomly disappears.
And it takes several refreshes to make it come back, but even then it usually stays for only a while.

Ö

The issue seems to be only in Firefox on Windows. Not Firefox on Linux, or IE 6 or 7, or even Grand Pardiso Alpha for that matter.
But it does happen on more than on PC.After around 25 reloads, I didnít see the mentioned issue.

Perhaps itís a browser bug. Make sure you have the latest version of Firefox (2.0.0.8). This could also be a result of extensions interfering with page rendering; you could try loading Firefox in safe mode [1] so that extensions are disabled and see if the problem still occurs.


http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode_(Firefox)

marcus1060
10-30-2007, 11:59 AM
My first thought was that it was the bug in 2.0.0.8 mentioned here (http://developer.mozilla.org/devnews/index.php/2007/10/22/firefox-2008-update-to-be-updated/), but I don't think that is it.

I tried it in safe mode, but that didn't solve anything. I did try it on several PCs, all of them had the same issue. And there is nothing related between the PCs (ie: all at different locations, different ISPs etc)

I now think the error is somewhere in my CSS for the #main div. I'm gonna go through that and maybe I'll pick up the issue.

Edit: Interesting... sometimes med-bottom.png doesn't show up in the .med-boxes depending on what unrelated CSS I remove...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum