View Full Version : Domain Name to Apache Server (???)

01-09-2003, 01:39 AM
OK... the deal is, I have a domain name.. thats fine
I have a web site.. thats fine
I have a server... thats fine..
It has Apache running on Windows NT server... thats fine.
It also has a static Ip address.. thats fine.
How do I direct my domain name to this ip address.

I need to basically know where I get the DNS and IP Addresses (Primary and secondary) from. Until now I have only worked w/ hosts I paid for and they gave me all the information to put in, never really understood where it came from. Now I'm trying to get my own server up. Some one please help.. Thank you for any time given.

01-09-2003, 02:15 AM
You will need to specify a bit more info... are you using a control system like Ensim, Plesk, etc.

However, SSH in as root and then look at the following files:


Those files contain important information about how you should be setting up your DNS. For more info, specify exactly what you are trying to do and what system (if any) you are using.

Oh yes and say if you are using your own nameservers or someone else's :)

::] krycek [::

01-09-2003, 02:25 AM
Yeah.. I don't understand any of that... thats my problem. As of now I have a domain name I bought from a site. And I have a Windows NT Server box running an apache server. Don't know how to connect one to the other.

01-09-2003, 03:42 PM
OOoops sorry I missed the "Windows NT" bit earlier, I was in kind of a hurry... what I posted was with regard to Linux, which most webservers use. Please disregard! I know nothing about this using Windows servers. :o

::] krycek [::