View Full Version : Radio Button, open url?! :(

10-14-2007, 04:06 PM

Im new here and a total newb at scriping =D

Right this is what im trying to do.
I want to make a radio button connected to a text box.

Say the button 'define' has been clicked, and in the text box 'php' has been written in, it should go to google where 'define: php' has been written in and searched.

This is what i have done so far:

<input type="radio" name="engine" id="engine" value="define" CHECKED> <b>Define<\/b>


<form name="example" style="margin:-10 0 5 10" id="example" action=
"somephpradiobutton-if-response" method="post" target="_blank">
<input type="text" name="search" id="search" maxlength='60' size='45' value=""> <input type=
"submit" value="Search"><br>

<div id="heh"></div><script type="text/javascript">

But i do not know what type of response script would be in the action=

something like ' if define, then go to this url:....'

could anyone give me an example what would be in response.php script with the data i have given above?
I have searched ALOT but all i find is alert boxes that open giving a message, and 'sql' or something like that :(

Thankyou in advanced!

10-14-2007, 05:12 PM
<script type="text/javascript">
function transform(frm) {
var engine = frm.engine.checked;
var search = frm.search.value;
if ( engine ) {
frm.q.value = 'define:' + search;
frm.engine.checked = false;
<form name="example" style="margin:-10 0 5 10" id="example" action=
"http://www.google.com/search" method="get" target="_blank" onsubmit="transform(this)">
<input type="text" name="search" id="search" maxlength='60' size='45' value="">
<input type="submit" value="Search"><br>
<input type="text" name="q"></input>
<input type="radio" name="engine" id="engine" value="define" > <b>Define</b>
<div id="heh"></div>

10-14-2007, 05:31 PM

Thank you for your reply.
Thats cool script =D appritiat your work.

I just have 1 tiny mumble :( I have written most of the code already and that sorta doesnt fit in my answere :(

Here is a copy of source i have

I got that source mainly from
and wanna make something simular.

After ages of googling i found something like this which i can write in the response.php

$toDefine = $_POST['the_name_of_the_text_box'];

Could you help me on that?