...

View Full Version : Hosting?



Budde
10-10-2007, 11:24 PM
How do you host your own website off of your own computer? Note: I have 2 computers.

Josh

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-10-2007, 11:43 PM
You can use XAMPP (http://apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html). Make sure you check the security page in xampp after installing it. You can get to it from going to http://localhost/xampp/ after you start apache.

Once you fix those issues you will need to forward port 80 on your router if you have one.

Budde
10-11-2007, 12:37 AM
What about for ASP, ASP.NET?

Thanks,
Josh

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-11-2007, 02:37 AM
If you have Windows XP Pro or Windows Vista you can use IIS.
http://www.webwizguide.com/kb/asp_tutorials/installing_iis_winXP_pro.asp

You may want to check with your ISP if you are going to be using a lot of bandwidth as they may not allow their customers to run home servers.

247SiteAlert
10-13-2007, 10:41 PM
Before you jump in and do that - here are some questions to ponder:

1. Are you going to also host other websites on your own server?

2. Once you setup your own server that will mean you will have to keep it conneted to your ISP 24/7.

3. Are you also able to know what security software and patches are needed?

Unless you enjoy the techie side of doing your own hosting, I've seen hosting plans for a couple of bucks a month and they handle everything for you!

Just thinking out loud.

Budde
01-04-2008, 11:09 PM
If you have Windows XP Pro or Windows Vista you can use IIS.
http://www.webwizguide.com/kb/asp_tutorials/installing_iis_winXP_pro.asp

You may want to check with your ISP if you are going to be using a lot of bandwidth as they may not allow their customers to run home servers.

Also, How do make this part available on the Web. Do I forward it to Port 80?

twomt
01-05-2008, 09:57 AM
Also.... Do you have a fixed IP or a dynamic IP from your provider?
It would be quite annoying if today your site is on address1 and tomorrow on address2, we'll never find it.

So, what I think you need to do is check the following:

1. Bandwith between you and your provider
2. Dynamic or fixed IP address so people can find your webserver
3. Install webserver (IIS, Apache, Tomcat... dependign on your needs).
4. Secure the server !!! Very important step !!! through the router, firewalls, config files and so on.
5. Compare the work/security risks against the costs of a hosted solution

Inigoesdr
01-05-2008, 10:17 AM
Also, How do make this part available on the Web. Do I forward it to Port 80?
You would have to open port 80 if you have a router. Otherwise it should be open already, and web server software(apache, iis, lighttpd) binds to port 80 by default, so you shouldn't need to change that.

Also.... Do you have a fixed IP or a dynamic IP from your provider?
If you had a dynamic IP you could use a dyanmic DNS server like No-IP.com (http://www.no-ip.com/services/managed_dns/free_dynamic_dns.html). If the OP is planning to start a website that is going to be more than just testing/development it would be best to buy hosting from a provider(as 247SiteAlert stated before).

Budde
01-05-2008, 01:43 PM
Also.... Do you have a fixed IP or a dynamic IP from your provider?
It would be quite annoying if today your site is on address1 and tomorrow on address2, we'll never find it.

So, what I think you need to do is check the following:

1. Bandwith between you and your provider
2. Dynamic or fixed IP address so people can find your webserver
3. Install webserver (IIS, Apache, Tomcat... dependign on your needs).
4. Secure the server !!! Very important step !!! through the router, firewalls, config files and so on.
5. Compare the work/security risks against the costs of a hosted solution

1. Bandwith will be Fine
2. Will have Fixed IP
3. Webserver will be Installed
4. I'll get this taken Care of!
5. I'll be fine!

Question: Is it a good idea to have a router?

twomt
01-05-2008, 06:18 PM
Well, the entire internet/network consists out of routers so the data knows where to go (well, it only knows the end destination... the router will get it there).

So, I guess you will not get around a router at some stage in your network ;)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum