...

View Full Version : Securing a website



BarrMan
10-07-2007, 11:40 AM
Hey.
Changing IP is a very easily achieved method. Thus, securing a web basing the functions on the users IP isn't usually usefull and banning the user won't be effective for the sole reason that the users can bypass it by changing the IP.

Is there another way of detecting a user regardless of its IP? Something static that doesn't ever change? If not.. Is there maybe another method of trying to achieve what I want?

Thanks!

gnomeontherun
10-07-2007, 10:03 PM
The only way besides IP the I know is to force a login for membership (which can be a huge deterrant to people, or they could set up several accounts which cause problems tracking) or tracking cookie (which can be easily cleared).

http://www.homelandstupidity.us/software/bad-behavior/

This is a set of PHP scripts that help combat spam (probably not what you wanted exactly, but I'm not sure), but I don't know any way to have automatic user detection without IP.

BarrMan
10-07-2007, 11:02 PM
Thanks for the help! But I'm pretty sure I've seen sites that can track you even though you change the IP. How can it be done? Is there a way you can detect the PROXY address?

gnomeontherun
10-07-2007, 11:34 PM
This is beyond my expertise, but again if the IP changes then you have no concrete way to determine if the new IP is related to any old ones (as far as I'm aware?). Maybe someone else knows?

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-07-2007, 11:38 PM
Thanks for the help! But I'm pretty sure I've seen sites that can track you even though you change the IP. How can it be done? Is there a way you can detect the PROXY address?
And what sites might those be? Its likely they just put a cookie on your computer or they started a session on their server.

BarrMan
10-08-2007, 10:27 AM
MegaUpload does that... I've tried bypassing it(To check how it works).
So I deleted the cookies, Opened another browsing window, changed my IP and still it could detect me.
I've disabled the cookies, IP detection and Sessions. How else can it recognize me?

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-08-2007, 01:11 PM
You probably didn't change your IP properly. I've done it before to see if would work and it does. People use proxies but even then some proxies won't work or they will be really slow.

BarrMan
10-08-2007, 04:30 PM
Hmm, I'm pretty sure I checked the IP. Maybe the reason that it could track me down all the time is because I had their toolbar installed in my computer. That should be it.

Thanks alot for trying to help me! :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum