...

View Full Version : IE conditional comments



toothmkr57
10-05-2007, 03:41 AM
I am running into a problem in ie6, my site looks like donkey dung.... I have adjusted the layout.css to make the page look good in ie6 and saved it as ie6layout.css. Then I wrote a conditional comment;


<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="layout.css" />
<style type="text/css" media="all">

<!--[if lte IE 6]>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="ie6layout.css" />
<![endif]-->

</style>


and tried opening it in ie6 with no results. What am I missing?
Sorry for all the nooby questions....

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-05-2007, 04:13 AM
Are you using a standalone version of IE6?

toothmkr57
10-05-2007, 04:22 AM
I would say probably no. I downloaded and installed the commonly found multi version internet explorer tool.

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-05-2007, 04:29 AM
I would say probably no. I downloaded and installed the commonly found multi version internet explorer tool.

Then, yes are using a standalone version of IE. Read this

http://www.positioniseverything.net/articles/multiIE.html

This assumes you had installed IE7 before you installed multiple IE however the registry hack should work if you happen to install IE7 after you installed multiple IE.

Blue_Jeans
10-05-2007, 06:06 AM
While inconvenient, I've found the best way to test multi-ie versions is to download virtual-pc (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx) and install another OS with the version of IE you want. It's inconvenient to set up, but you can't go wrong with testing.

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-05-2007, 06:27 AM
While inconvenient, I've found the best way to test multi-ie versions is to download virtual-pc (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx) and install another OS with the version of IE you want. It's inconvenient to set up, but you can't go wrong with testing.
Thats the only option for Vista users.

toothmkr57
10-05-2007, 11:25 PM
Then, yes are using a standalone version of IE. Read this

http://www.positioniseverything.net/articles/multiIE.html

This assumes you had installed IE7 before you installed multiple IE however the registry hack should work if you happen to install IE7 after you installed multiple IE.

Thanks Aerospace that worked splinderiferously

toothmkr57
10-05-2007, 11:36 PM
Alrighty, I think I jumped the gun here... it worked great for the little test hat was on the sheet but in trialing the site, it doesn't do anything differently, what could I be doing?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum