...

View Full Version : FrontPage & DHTML: Bad Mix?



mafunk
01-07-2003, 03:34 AM
Hi,

Though I'm a FrontPage dinosaur (too cheap to buy a new program), I don't rely on the WYSIWIG to code my pages. I know FrontPage is notorious for adding bad code, but I haven't had any problems, until now . . .

I've recently started using dhtml code found at this site, and all has gone well. No problems what so ever until I tried using some script that I copied off of another site. Here's the deal, when I drop the code into FrontPage it scrambles and I get error messages. However, I can drop that same code into notepad, and I don't have any problems working with the code.

So, my question is this. Do you think that the problem is with FrontPage, or is the problem that the original writer put something in the code so that nobody could try to deciper it.
Note: It's not totally scrambled, and does not have a bunch of numbers it. In fact much of the code is in tact, its just messed up in some places. The problem is every time I try to fix it the code just scrambels and errors in FrontPage. I know, I know, then just use notepad. Notepad is too cumbersome.

Any suggestions?

MaFunk

jkd
01-07-2003, 03:50 AM
It is Frontpage being stupid.

I personally use Ultraedit (http://www.ultraedit.com) to edit everything, however everyone has their own preference. Any decent WYSIWYG editor shouldn't do that either...

Also, "Post a Javascript" is not the most appropriate forum for this question... since it has to do with an editor I'll move this to the General Web Design forum.

Mhtml
01-07-2003, 06:02 AM
Is front page and dhtml a bad mix?

front page and anything is a bad mix!

Just my opinion, don't under-estimate the power of notepad!

Go to www.tucows.com and have a search there for some free text and or wysiwyg editors!

applesauce
01-07-2003, 09:50 PM
when you tried it with notepad, were you using all the coding from your page, or did you have it by itself? unless it was with all your other code, it could be some conflict with something you already have.

if you did use the whole coded page in notepad to compare, i'd put them side by side (using the code viewer in frontpage) to see what became garbled.

just a place to start!
:)

Gordo
01-08-2003, 01:48 AM
I don't know how you went about pasting the code into FrontPage, but you have to make sure the code is pure. Otherwise, FP will adjust for fonts, etc. accordingly.

So, copy the code you want to add and paste it in Notepad. Then re-copy (or cut) the code and paste it in the HTML of your page (not in the NORMAL view).

I've never had any problems with pasting scripts in FP. I take that back, I did have a problem once, but the author of the script had put the script in the <BODY> instead of the <HEAD>. I informed the author, and he admitted his mistake. That was the only time FP tried to "fix" the code.

Good luck.

ionsurge
01-08-2003, 07:23 AM
Originally posted by Mhtml
front page and anything is a bad mix!
[/B]

haha that is what I wanted to say...

Anyhow jkd, I went to the ultraedit site, and they have a list of downloads in the downloads section. BUT on the top of the table, it says buy now.

What is up with that...?

2cwd
01-27-2003, 06:58 PM
I us frontpage to make this www.2netzone.com
and www.2cwd.com

Nightfire
01-28-2003, 01:08 AM
Originally posted by ionsurge
haha that is what I wanted to say...

...I went to the ultraedit site, and they have a list of downloads in the downloads section. BUT on the top of the table, it says buy now.

What is up with that...?

Downloadable version is trial version, expires after 30 or 60 days, can't remember...

ionsurge
01-28-2003, 11:43 AM
Hrm... I guess I will download it anyhow and see how it runs.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum