...

View Full Version : Seo and Ajax- working on a project. it is going to be a rather large site



stickybomb
09-27-2007, 01:48 PM
hi i am working on a project. it is going to be a rather large site and we are looking into controling the page content through ajax. so baically there will be one page and the content will be created through an ajax call to a seperate file. for each link clicked.

My question is how would this affect search engines, what are the down sides and upsides.

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-27-2007, 02:11 PM
As long as your js degrades gracefully. For example don't do this

<a href="javascript:ajaxcall('somefile.html');">Some File</a>
Instead do this

<a href="somefile.html" onclick="ajaxcall(this.href);return false">Some File</a>
This way the link will still work without JS enabled and search engines will still be able to follow the link.

stickybomb
09-27-2007, 06:13 PM
ok so the SE will read the content of the xml request? Ad not just try and re-read the page, since the ajax request is basically working as an include method correct. Also i will be using mootools for my ajax requests does this affect the seo since it uses an event handler instead of inline onclick. so it would basically be something like

<a href="" id="link">text</a>

then the mootools code for the ajax call would just assign an event to link for onclick

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-27-2007, 07:00 PM
Ahh so you aren't just calling files, similar to this? http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm

If your link looks like that then SE wouldn't be able to see your can't. They can't see the xml request. Personally I don't think ajax is the way to go for this.

stickybomb
09-27-2007, 07:45 PM
ok this answers my question perfectly.

Although Is there some sort of alternative that can be used to accomplish the pulling of data to the page without refreshing, that a search engine could read without the use of frames.

Other than of csourse just hiding and unhiding of content on a page.

My issue is that I have a hefty site I am working on that will require quite a load time of dial-up and other slower connections and I am looking for a way to minimize that by requireing less to have to render for each page.

not sure if you understand that but any help is appriciated.

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-28-2007, 01:05 AM
Use server side or php includes. For example check out my site http://prdesignz.com

It reloads the page but only thing changing is the content.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum