...

View Full Version : The use of menus



Alethea
09-21-2007, 03:47 PM
Well the last time I was involved in making web-pages frames were the brand new toy and I loved how you could have a menu that loaded once which would target another frame.

It seems now that everything has changed and there is no doubt that this is a good thing but I would like to know how to create this same functionality using CSS.

The template I am working from can be found at:

http://blog.websitestyle.com/index.php/2006/04/16/new-template-midnight-rainforest/

I would like to know:

1. How do I make the main content update from a menu choice without creating a full new page duplicating the menu every time (this seems like it would be a pain to update when I added to the menu).

2. How do I make the drop-down menus in this template work, its seems to be based on changing the ID tag from active to inactive but I have no idea how to do this in a page.

Any help would be gratefully accepted... it feels like I'm having to learn everything from scratch again!

garydarling
09-21-2007, 04:57 PM
Check out Stu Nicholl's site for answers to both questions:

http://www.cssplay.co.uk/layouts/frame.html
http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menus/

If you plan on adding to your menu frequently, consider making it in a separate page and using the PHP include function to add it dynamically to your pages.

http://www.tizag.com/phpT/include.php

Gary

Alethea
09-21-2007, 07:56 PM
Thank you for your help Gary, I'll look at those tonight... the menu will need to deal with around 30-40 items so making those drop downs work will be a godsend.

effpeetee
09-22-2007, 05:21 PM
Thank you for your help Gary, I'll look at those tonight... the menu will need to deal with around 30-40 items so making those drop downs work will be a godsend.
There are some menu css sites included in the url's in my signature.

Frank



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum