...

View Full Version : Fireworks.... Or my computer???!!?



The Wizzard
01-04-2003, 08:10 PM
Check this screenshot out...

http://www.ocmotorcars.com/screen1.gif

When i try to write text, it highlights the text the color i choose... I cannot figure out how to fix it. I reformated 2 days ago, then i installed fireworks, and its doing that. I uninstalled it, then reinstalled it, same thing...

Any ideas??!?!

Borgtex
01-04-2003, 08:17 PM
It must be your computer, graphics driver or something like that; Fireworks doesn't highlight text (at least, I never find how to do it)

The Wizzard
01-04-2003, 08:25 PM
you think its my driver? hmm, im not sure...

I have a GeForce2

I went to www.nvidia.com and downloaded this one...

http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=win9x_41.09

or in their dropdown menu thing I did...

Graphics Driver > GeForce and TNT > Windows ME

Spookster
01-04-2003, 09:55 PM
I have a Geforce2 and Fireworks and it does not do that.

wap3
01-04-2003, 10:06 PM
I have a Geforce2 and Fireworks and it does not do that.

me too and it doesn't do that

:)

The Wizzard
01-05-2003, 12:40 AM
Its never done that to me before either... Maybe I downloaded the wrong driver?

CRASH_OVERRIDE
01-05-2003, 01:04 AM
Does it highlight red when your using a different color for the text?

nickbarresi
01-05-2003, 01:55 AM
1. Go to download.com and get BCM Diagnostics (Free)
2. Run Memory test
3. Replace bad memory (if any)

This procedure fixed my fireworks.

*In godfather voice* It was my memory all along

The Wizzard
01-05-2003, 04:57 AM
No CRASH_OVERRIDE, if i choose my text color to be green, it highlights green, same with any other color...

The Wizzard
01-05-2003, 05:04 AM
nickbarresi, I downloaded the program, but I cannot figure it out...

Excuse me if this question is easy or basic, I really dont know much about computers, all I know is web design :)

but how do you run a memory test?

then would it automaticly replace bad memory?

Thanks!

firepages
01-05-2003, 10:42 AM
do other programs have the same issue ???

its really unlikely to be hardware related.

go into /program files/macromedia/fireworks and look for the Fireworks $version Preferences.txt and delete it (make sure fireworks is already closed !)

then restart fireworks - you never know its worth a shot.

nickbarresi
01-05-2003, 11:01 AM
If you open the BCM diagnostics folder there should be a "Memory Test" icon, just double click it, and let it do it's magic.

If it finds any errors, your best bet is to take it to a computer store and get the bad memory replaced, unless you know how to do this yourself.

I'm not saying memory is your problem, but it could be. Like I said, with mine I kept getting strange errors in Fireworks, now after replacing bad memory it runs like a dream :)

You may want to go to the forums at macromedia.com and search for any threads pertaining to your problem.

CRASH_OVERRIDE
01-06-2003, 01:24 AM
Does your PC run 'choppy', or sluggish?

The Wizzard
01-06-2003, 03:40 AM
No CRASH_OVERRIDE, it doesnt run sluggish... I guess I am going to reformat again... Thats all I can do right now... Before I reformated the other day, I never had that problem...

Well, thanks for your help anyways.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum