View Full Version : How to enable asp in apache2

09-14-2007, 05:29 PM
I'm running apache2 webserver on my local machine and would like to know how to enable asp pages to load up. Was using iis b4 but apache seems to be a better option due to its dynamism.

09-17-2007, 03:55 PM
IIS4 is >10 years old, and ASP on Apache is just NOT a good idea.

If you want to run ASP, you need to use IIS. IIS 6 is the current version with Windows Server 2003, 5.1 with Windows XP, and 7 with Vista / Server 2008.

If you must run ASP with Apache, you can download and install a module that simulates ASP in Apache, although I am not aware of how reliable it is.

Short take-home message: Use IIS, not Apache.

09-18-2007, 04:51 AM
I'll keep that in mind I haven't enabled the module yet. Using just 1 web server seems more appropriate then 2 running in the background. Thx for your post.