...

View Full Version : Rollovers in NS 4.61



G E C K O 5
01-03-2003, 03:30 PM
Hi Everyone,


I am having some problems, particularly with rollovers and my attempts to make a site expandable for various screen resolutions..


http://www.lowquebec.ca/municipal/index_e.html is probably the best place to start.

I am trying to have a cell be 100% from top to bottom left of the content.

I am trying to have a cell be 100% from left to right left of the "General Info" button.

I am trying to have a cell be 100% from left to right, right of the title above the content.

I am trying to have a cell be 100% from left to right, left of "Legal Disclaimer".

As well, none of my rollovers seem to work on the navigation along the top or the left hand side....

Any info would be much appreciated as i learn the fun with Netscape!!!!

TIA,

pardicity3
01-03-2003, 07:21 PM
Hey G E C K O 5,

First off, if the only problem you are having with your site in NS4.61 is your images not changing on mouseover, well you should be happy! :) Anyway, as to your problem, I know older version of Netscape wouldn't acknowledge mouseover effects on certain tags (I know that the <td> tag is one for sure). Maybe that is where your problem lies. Also, the code you are using for your rollovers seems to be from some kind of an editor (maybe Dreamweaver?). I don't know why, but sometimes editors don't use the most efficient rollover code and maybe that is where another problem lies?

G E C K O 5
01-03-2003, 09:15 PM
Yup, you guessed it UD4 actually as the editor..

Do you have any suggestions as to a remedy? I want to try and resolve these over the weekend and thought i would go to the source(s) before begining the agonizing process of QA!!


TIA,

cg9com
01-03-2003, 10:23 PM
Originally posted by pardicity3
First off, if the only problem you are having with your site in NS4.61 is your images not changing on mouseover, well you should be happy!
ill second that one Pardicity3! :)
just another post to help argue my point of manual coding being the best way to go.

pardicity3
01-03-2003, 10:33 PM
You might want to try doing something like this:

<img src="your_original_image.gif" name="your_image_name" onmouseover="your_image_name.src='your_new_image.gif';" onmouseout="your_image_name.src='your_original_image.gif';">

and then in your <head> section put this code to preload all your onmouseover images:

<script>
img1 = new Image();
img1.src = "your_image_name.gif";
img2 = new Image();
img2.src = "your_next_image_name.gif";
img3 = new Image();
img3.src = "your_next_image_name.gif";
img4 = new Image();
img4.src = "your_next_image_name.gif";
img5 = new Image();
img5.src = "your_next_image_name.gif";
</script>

I think that should work. I may have made a mistake though, cause I typed it out pretty fast. If by chance it doesn't work, you may try doing a serach on google for something like "javascript image rollover". And then look for something similiar to what I gave you.

As always, if you need any more help, just come right back!

pardicity3
01-03-2003, 10:35 PM
Originally posted by cg9com
ill second that one Pardicity3! :)
just another post to help argue my point of manual coding being the best way to go.
Mmm, I agree with that statement completly. Plus, hand coding just gives me a great sense of reward, well that is when I finally get it to work! :thumbsup:

G E C K O 5
01-04-2003, 01:30 PM
Hi pardicity3,


Thanks for the info.. I have applied your logic to the splash page..

http://www.lowquebec.ca on the english/french buttons, however i am still without the rollover functionality..

Any other suggestions? I will do a search on Google in the meantime..


Regards,

pardicity3
01-04-2003, 08:15 PM
I see that you have the preloading in your head section, but you still have the rollover script from your editor. The stuff in the head section should probably look like this:

<script language="JavaScript">
<!--

img1 = new Image();
img1.src = "_images/splash/en_btn_20-BEFORE.gif";
img2 = new Image();
img2.src = "_images/splash/en_btn_20.gif";
img3 = new Image();
img3.src = "_images/splash/fr_btn_31-BEFORE.gif";
img4 = new Image();
img4.src = "_images/splash/fr_btn_31.gif";

//-->
</script>

Notice how I deleted everything but the preload script I told you about. Now, inside your actual body, you need to stop using the function from your editor (MM_swapImage()). Here is what it should look like:


<a href="index_f.html" onmouseover="fr_btn.src='_images/splash/fr_btn_31.gif';" onmouseout="fr_btn.src='_images/splas/fr_btn_31-BEFORE.gif';"><img src="_images/splash/fr_btn_31-BEFORE.gif" name="fr_btn" width=94 height=16 border=0 alt="franšais"></a>

INSTEAD OF

<a href="index_f.html" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('fr_btn','','_images/splash/fr_btn_31.gif',1)" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()"><img src="_images/splash/fr_btn_31-BEFORE.gif" name="fr_btn" width=94 height=16 border=0 alt="franšais"></A>

All I did was reformat your code so that you weren't using the code that your editor put in there. Give this a go and see if it helps!

zoobie
01-05-2003, 01:58 AM
Professionals are not coding for version 4 browsers anymore...or version 3 for that matter. :D

pardicity3
01-05-2003, 07:09 AM
Originally posted by zoobie
Professionals are not coding for version 4 browsers anymore...or version 3 for that matter. :D

Even so, I think that this code is better for image rollovers even for the newest browsers. It's less bloated and a lot less complex. Oh and I don't think brothercake would like that statement too much either. ;)

G E C K O 5
01-05-2003, 02:37 PM
Well Zoobie,

As a profesional, you would not do to well in Canada.. The largest contract provider in our country (Yup you guessed it), the federal Government of Canada, as a policy to make all websites "Common Look and Feel". Although i do not particularly agree with some of the mandates that is required, basically a site you build for them as to function in as wide a variations as possible. Text Readers, NS4, IE4, 640X480,etc.... Although this site in particular is not a Government site, it is a Regional site, which the client wants to follow the vein that the government has attempted to established to a certain degree.


Your comment is quite interesting though... As a profesional, my problem should be easy for you to suggest a correction??? No?

In any event the issue with the rollovers have been resolved. The simple solution, move the events within the <a> tags. NS does not recognize them outside of it.


Thanks to everyone for the help :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum