View Full Version : calling all browsers!

01-02-2003, 03:42 AM
I want to put my site to the cross browser test so I'm hoping y'all can help me out. Some of you may have helped me work out some JavaScript bugs and I thank you. IE 5 reviews welcome, Known to fail in Opera.

Any new / other error reports are encouraged.

Another concern is load time. I think my preloading scheme works well but if there is anyone out there on 56k dial up please let me know about your experience.

I believe that anyone w/o flash players will simply see no flash movie, no errors or prompts or blank spots. Anyone without a flash player please let me know if it goes smooth.


Ladies and Gentelmen, thank you.


01-02-2003, 08:19 AM
load was a little long on 56k ie6
all good after that

01-02-2003, 10:21 AM

Pointless splash page;
Chromeless popup window;
Excruciatingly slow fade out / fade in page changes.

Really clever and all, but it ranks high on my annoyance list. Sorry.

01-02-2003, 11:08 AM
Pop up - annoying
Looong fades - annoying
And I find it very slow (even with a DSL connection) ; the rest it's ok

01-02-2003, 11:24 AM
With Norton Security enabled

I got nowhere:

<snip>...Because Script-based Popup</snip>
<snip>...Because ActiveX blocking enabled</snip>

With Norton disabled

IE 5.5 (Win ME)
With Allow JavaScript, but with ActiveX / Java set to Prompt

<snip>...Error: Object doesn't support this property or method</snip>

My security is normally set fairly high, but I seldom have problems entering sites. I will often see an error caused by a removed pop-up, which are usually ads, but in your case, the pop-up seems to be the only way to enter the site, or at least, to establish a window size for the page which follows. Without execution of that pop-up, I can't get anywhere. I have to put your site in my Trusted Zone and reload IE to enter.

Netscape 7.0
With Java (JRE) not installed (as opposed to having it disabled)
Freezes at initial screen load. I couldn't get any further.

Netscape 4.76
Worked as per your script for the upgrade.

01-02-2003, 06:24 PM
Works for me. IE6 SP1.

However you should, like previously mentioned, dump the splash page.

Also I find it slightly annoying to have to move my mouse over the scollbar to scroll versus being able to use the mouse wheel.

01-02-2003, 07:27 PM
Wow. OK, well I know that I made some design decisions that were unconventional but lets take a breath and take a look at some of the reasons for these choices (other than trying to be adventurous in my use of DHTML).
I donít want to be defensive here but perhaps we can talk about practical applications of JavaScript vs. personal preferences.

Splash page: used to preload images and to enable a USER INITIATED pop up (to avoid conflict with pop up killers) I canít think of a way to resize or open and resize a window without a splash page containing a link.

Pop-Up Window with all options off (not chromeless): Used to constrain window proportions so that page will look the same on all monitor resolutions. Is this method such an anathema that it has no value whatsoever? Do security settings block even User initiated window.open commands? This must block a lot of useful features of internet sites like term definitions that pop up when clicked on in medical text sites.

Fades: just an aesthetic choice.

The Active X blocking: I routed the call to the flash player through Active X so that the flash object would be smaller and validate as XHTML (even though IE 5.5 thinks <object>doesnít support this method). This is what my code looks like:

<object id="fla" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="images/2flag.swf" width="117" height="68" >
<param name="movie" value="images/2flag.swf" />

vs. a standard Flash object

<object classid="clsid:27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="117" height="68">
<param name="movie" value="images/2flag.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<embed src="images/2flag.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="117" height="68"></embed></object>

Perhaps I shouldnít be concerned about size (I already missed that boat)

Netscape 7: There is no Java on the page, and Iíve seen several NS7 browsers render this page correctly. PauletteB, Perhaps this is more blocking by your security settings.

OK well thanks for the feed back It is good exercise just to articulate my thinking about the design.


01-02-2003, 08:37 PM
This article (http://www.alistapart.com/stories/flashsatay/) might interest you about Flash and XHTML compliance :D

01-02-2003, 10:51 PM
Do security settings block even User initiated window.open commands
i) By default, yes, but scripts which degrade usually present no problem.
<a href="thankyou.html" target="popUp" onClick="mkWin()">Click</a>
will flow through while
<a href="javascrip&#116;:mkWin()">Click</a>
will be blocked.

ii) and when scripts are blocked, rules can be easily and quickly added to allow specified sites or codes.

01-04-2003, 06:43 PM

Thanks for the ALA link, that's where I got the trick for validating flash. That was some quick thinking that I'm not up to myself.

beetle, I noticed that your site has a similar pop up scheem that displays your main content. Have you had any trouble with it being blocked by software?


01-04-2003, 10:51 PM
If anyone has ever had such a problem, no one has told me about it.

01-05-2003, 03:14 AM
Did you know that search engines take into account page loading time? Oh yes! :D