View Full Version : Help me make this design less pants

NancyJ
08-22-2007, 04:06 PM
I'm no designer but my dad needs a favor and I don't want to let him down. I'm happy with most of it but the area around the 'croal irwell valley volunteer rangers' and the nav I think are what's letting it down.

This was my original design
http://hazelryan.co.uk/rangers/rangers.jpg

and this is the build (still in progress)

http://hazelryan.co.uk/rangers/

harbingerOTV
08-22-2007, 04:26 PM
I'm at work right now so a few quick ideas.

Darken the background of the site. It's real washed out looking. Just darken the current green your using and it will probably look better. I'd use a fade rather than a flat colour but that's just me.

The nav is jerky and your right, nothing spectacular. First go back and close your <li> and see if that fixes the jerkyness. You have 4-5 open right now.

I would think a background hover on the links rather than a text colour change might be a better idea. And, #CCC470, has go to be changed. It's not a pretty colour in this scheme.

Maybe this can help, maybe not. I'll check in when I get off work if I have time.

bazz
08-22-2007, 04:31 PM
I'm sure you know I am no deisgn guru but, I would think about picking a colour from your photo, say the dark reflection of the trees, and fade it downwards so that at the bottom it blends with the grass.

bazz

lithriel
08-22-2007, 06:51 PM
Nancy your picture is taking up a lot of prime real estate for your website. Bless them, but anyone using an 800 x 600 screen resolution is going to get a whole lot of lake and not much content. Rangers who volunteer at this location may have this screen resolution.