...

View Full Version : Dreamweaver



afesoccer
08-18-2007, 01:00 AM
How to find out the root folder of your site? In Dreamweaver, it asks me for "What URL would you use to browse to the root of your site?".

westmatrix99
08-18-2007, 07:59 AM
Probably this:

http://locahost/virtual_foldername/
Not sure can't remember when I got that error, don't be lazy fill out all the fields in dreamweaver when creating a site.
Or
Find a tutorial on setting up a site.

srule_
08-18-2007, 03:13 PM
your root folder is simply were all you save all your dreamweaver work. You can set it anywere you want.

You don't even need to use it. I have folders out side of my root folder, that I sometimes save my pages to, such as my FTP folder.

afesoccer
08-18-2007, 04:48 PM
So what would I write down if I want to put it on the public_html folder? My website is www.afesoccer.com

_Aerospace_Eng_
08-18-2007, 05:54 PM
Which root folder? The local one? The local one is just the location of the files on your computer. The remote root folder is the public_html folder so usually something like http://www.yoursite.com would work.

afesoccer
08-18-2007, 07:38 PM
This is what it says on the Dreamweaver site setup. http://locahost/ and I am suppose to fill after the /.

westmatrix99
08-18-2007, 07:50 PM
The virtual folder name eg: "gallery"
So if my site (virtual folder) was "gallery" then it would be: http://localhost/gallery

westmatrix99
08-18-2007, 07:54 PM
Please go here and learn some dreamweaver stuff:

http://www.webthang.co.uk/tuts/tuts_dmx04/newbie_2/dmx04_2_1.asp

Cheers

afesoccer
08-19-2007, 07:51 PM
This is what I'm getting. http://www.afesoccer.com/dreamweaver.bmp

westmatrix99
08-19-2007, 07:57 PM
There are two places to add the correct syntax, you did not learn what I sent you.
Your server would be http://localhost/ or http://yourservername/
Please go and learn! as your questions are answered already in the link I sent you before.

Actinia
08-24-2007, 05:23 PM
The local site root does not need to be a http://localhost site. It can be your local folder for whatever corresponds to your website. Thus your folder D:\Mysite would correspond to http://www.mysite.com.

If you do not use templates, assets or other dreamweaver features, then you do not need to specify a site. If you are using these features, then you do need to specify a site.

John Rostron

sd_code_FORUM
08-25-2007, 09:32 AM
Yes you can specify any directory to be your site.

sd_code_FORUM
08-25-2007, 09:38 AM
But you have to specify any http:// location in your application before launch.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum