View Full Version : hows this layout

elementis0
08-13-2007, 02:51 AM
Well this layout is still heavily in development so i decided to post it here to see what you guys think about it so far. personally i think it looks kinda plain but im still thinking of ways to liven it up.

heres the link:
http://freewebs.com/clanwop/ocutest.html

this is just a little web design site im probably going to make public in about 6months. Im still no pro designer but more of a student with a goal of starting a freelance design site when i have proficient knowledge of the languages to do so.
but all i need to worry about right now is the look of the layout, guys what are the pros and cons of this layout. do you guys think the box is too isolated from everything else, any suggestions for making it look less plain? etc...
and to save you some time, yes it is all validated coding.

littlemiss
08-13-2007, 12:42 PM
It looks good (mozilla) i'm not sure about your blue mouse over on the menu, and the borders dissapear on mouseover which makes it look a bit weird, as the text just shifts slightly. I like your mousover and then the line dissapears and it matches your content, but what annoys me is how the text shifts, try adding this to your mouseover border-left:1px solid colourofli; so add a border at the left to your non-mouse over li classes so it doesnt shift.

And you should get rid of the horizontal scroll bar at the bottom of your content, it looks messy , try replacing overflow: scroll; with overflow:auto;

Looks pretty thought, its small and contained well.

elementis0
08-13-2007, 04:21 PM
Well I took your suggestions to thought and felt that they were pretty good ideas so, i did get the horizontal bar removed and the border stays on hover so the text doesn't shift.

littlemiss
08-13-2007, 04:27 PM
im glad i was helpful, your site looks good.

lithriel
08-14-2007, 11:37 PM