...

View Full Version : Fix height of td



dagaffer
12-26-2002, 08:29 PM
I have a table where one side has a rowspan of 2 (the navigation bar) & the header & content are on the other side...
I need the header & the content 2 b right ontop of each other (they are in seperate TD's).
The problem is the 2 td's seem to take up 50% of the size of the navigation bar each (i think im going crosseyed).
Even if i got the content right up to the header there would be a space between the header & the content that I can't get away.

After you read what I've said about 6 times & if you understand what i'm asking for, do you know how I can sort it...?!

redhead
12-26-2002, 08:39 PM
if im understanding you right... try putting cellspacing="0" into your <table> tag... and if that doesnt do what you want you could throw cellpadding="0" in there aswell... although that could well make everything look too bunched together...

i dont think this is the answer you're looking for though... as the thread title appears to be asking about hieght. is there a link or screenshot where we can see your problem?

:thumbsup:

ps... your sig is far too long... the board states it shouldnt be more than 4 lines long

dagaffer
12-26-2002, 08:45 PM
There is a link.... now: http://24.226.62.28/Gaffer/nu2.html

I've got things like that (cellspacing & cellpadding) so its not that...

Now making signature smaller :S

redhead
12-26-2002, 08:56 PM
ok... the problem here is that your coding is too neat ;)

well... thats not really a problem, just all the line breaks can create some gaps. so... take the <td> starting on line 16 with the "navtop.gif" image in and put that whole <td> on one line, so that it'll look like this:

<td align="left" valign="top"><img src="navtop.gif" width="577" height="142" alt="" border="0"></td>

and that should sort it... (hopefully)

dagaffer
12-26-2002, 09:02 PM
:thumbsup: Ah! thanx! 1 arachnophillia style compression later & it's all better. Thanx (so easy when Im told the answer:D )
Neway, thanx.

ronaldb66
12-27-2002, 08:46 AM
So now all your code is on one line... do you really think you can still maintain it that way? There's nothing wrong with neat code, just don't overdo it and pick your line breaks with some care, like not inside a tag.

redhead
12-27-2002, 01:25 PM
it wasnt in the middle of the tag, but there was a line break before and after the image tag, so IE added in some whitespace - thats all.

dagaffer
12-27-2002, 09:48 PM
With arachnophilia (the programme I use to edit HTML) I can compress & uncompress my pages. I've compressed most of my previous files to make them smaller but if I edit them I can uncompress... As I feel I'm repeating myself again that's all il say...
Thanx for the info:thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum