...

View Full Version : IE breaks my pretty menu



mranster
07-28-2007, 12:36 AM
http://www.antheliadesigns.com/css/justmenu.html

This menu works perfectly in FF, IE7, etc, but breaks in IE6. I am using Dean Edwards' ie7 javascript folder (http://dean.edwards.name/IE7/) which gives a little help on the first level of hover, but doesn't quite get me there.

It is a 3 level menu. The first level is meant to display the black and white buttons, which turn red upon mouse-over. This works.

The second level is meant to be silver with black text, and to turn blue with white text upon mouse-over. This isn't working in my example version here, but that doesn't bother me. The *REAL* trouble is that the background image for the top level is inheriting down to the second level.

My second big problem is that the third level is not displaying at all. If you go to the "Act" button, its fourth option ought to have a third level under it.


Can anyone help? I can't even begin to tell you all the things I've tried. Nothing seems to be working.

Thank you!!!

jlhaslip
07-28-2007, 01:14 AM
http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menus/

mranster
07-28-2007, 02:51 AM
I believe that is where the menu code originally came from, only I've messed with it. Especially adding an image to the top level is something Stu usually doesn't do.

Is there anything specific on that site you were suggesting I review?

jlhaslip
07-28-2007, 10:00 PM
have you looked at the flyout menus on that site?

epro
07-29-2007, 09:20 AM
Hello,

I too am having trouble with my menu in IE.

This menu works 100% perfect in FF but not IE

The problem is that the background image for the top level is inheriting down to the second level in IE.... thats the only thing I can't figure out.

Here is the link to my menu:
http://www.blueflamesearch.com/menu.html

Can someone please look at my source and tell me what I can do to get it working right in IE.

Thank you,
Ryan

BWiz
07-29-2007, 03:30 PM
@epro

Try adding a background-image: none; to the .drop

epro
07-29-2007, 09:14 PM
Thanks for the advice, but I tried adding the "background-image: none;" to the .drop class and still have the same issue. :confused:

Jutlander
07-29-2007, 09:20 PM
You have 4 errors in your CSS and they're all related to your backgrounds in your menu. I suggest you fix them as this may solve the problem:

http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator?uri=http://www.antheliadesigns.com/css/justmenu.html

epro
07-29-2007, 10:34 PM
I have errors in my css as well:

http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator?uri=http://www.blueflamesearch.com/menu.html

I doubt it, but could that be the cause of my IE issue?

Jutlander
07-29-2007, 10:53 PM
I have errors in my css as well:

It was your CSS I validated... 4 errors all about the background property in your menu. I think there's a good chance that this is what's causing it.

epro
07-29-2007, 11:17 PM
no, you validated the person who started this thread, not mine...

look at the previous posts...

here is what you validated:
www.antheliadesigns.com/css/justmenu.html

here is mine:
www.blueflamesearch.com/menu.html

I only have 3 errors in mine, relating to the .drop class of my css.

Jutlander
07-29-2007, 11:42 PM
Perhaps it would be a good idea to start your own thread then?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum