...

View Full Version : Problem: Drop-Down Menus Pushing Tables Down



counterbeing
07-26-2007, 11:19 PM
A friend requested that I add drop-down menus to his site. I didn't think it would be a problem, though I have very little experience with JavaScript (which I have determined to probably be the best option, though I'm still open to suggestion). Anyway, once installed, I have the drop downs doing what drop downs do: dropping. But when they extend the push the table down below them.

What I have done to the best of my ability:
added z-index to separate the DDM from the what it is supposed to be over
changed all positions to relative, as I read, this is how the z-index needed to work

here is the site:
http://df33.dot5hosting.com/~bolokada/index1.php
http://df33.dot5hosting.com/~bolokada/css1.css

PS: i'm on firefox mac

Thanks so much to anyone for even considering my problem, even if you don't have a solution. And if you have a solution, and are in San Francisco, I will buy you a donut.

lithriel
07-27-2007, 12:01 AM
Seems like you might try moving you Table_03 down some. Everything above that table seems set, it's not content but navigation. Maybe if you know for sure the top section of your website will be the same no matter what, you could put a margin-top on your Table_03 table offset by however tall the navigation and flash banner are.

Of course this means you may want to break this table from any containers it may be in and position it asbolutely. Otherwise, margin or no the menu will still push things down. Of course with me it always takes a lot of tweaking to figure out exactly what needs to be done. There could be many ways to find the solution you are looking for.

counterbeing
07-27-2007, 12:19 AM
The only time the content above the navigation changes is when you're not entering the site, and then it is replaced with a jpeg with the exact same dimensions as the flash, so absolute might not be a problem.

Thanks, I'll keep tweaking.

counterbeing
07-27-2007, 02:20 AM
it seems to be working, there are a few display problems with safari vs firefox, but all in all much closer, and I can probably figure it out, otherwise I guess it's back to the forums.

Thanks Everyone... well mostly lithriel.

Thanks

koyama
07-27-2007, 08:41 AM
Notice that all your second level menus are visible while the page is loading. This may look kind of funny.

If you want to solve that problem you can look at this thread: http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=118276



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum