...

View Full Version : Link to open in different frame question.



jyellen4
12-23-2002, 04:50 PM
First I would like to say hello to everyone as I am making my first post. I am a noob when it comes to coding, and I constructing my first site that wasnt used with an editor that allowed cut and paste hehe.

The site I am creating is using frames where I have a slide in menu from dynamic drive as navagation for the site in one frame. I am trying to find out first if its possible, and if it is, how to have the links open up in a seperate frame. Here is a link for what I have done so far. (Dont Laugh ;) )
ECBL (http://vgbaseball.freewebsitehosting.com/ECBL/index.html)
Thanks in advance to any assistance in this matter. :D

Jamie

ez4me2c3d
12-23-2002, 06:04 PM
I looked over your site and I have come up with this...

If you know code well enough to make frames and paste in a script from DynamicDrive you should be able to follow what im about to tell you...

in the file "ssmItems.js" you need to edit the menu so it reflects your site's navigation. No big secret there. In that file you'll notice this line:

// ssmItems[...]=[name, link, target, colspan, endrow?] - leave 'link' and 'target' blank to make a header
which tells you that you may specify a target.

So for your site, all of your links that you want to display in the "mainsection" frame (yes i saw that this is the name of that frame) you need to type something to this affect:

ssmItems[2]=["Link Name", "path/to/page.html","mainsection"]

see how that works?

jyellen4
12-23-2002, 08:37 PM
Yup that did it. Thank you so much for your response, you just made life alot easier for me =)

Jamie



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum