...

View Full Version : scrollbar adding width problem.. only in IE of course... ?



devonrs
07-15-2007, 01:11 AM
i have an inline frame with a set width and everything works fine except in IE.

if there's enough content in the frame to necessitate a vertical scrollbar, IE then adds a horizontal scrollbar as well. I've tried making the content in the page extra narrow (like, 300px in a 400px frame) and it won't get rid of the horizontal scroll bar!

it's a bit confusing because the issue only happens on this php page, not the regular html pages. i've tried editing the style, and width, and everything i can find on the php page, but no luck. if anyone can help me here i'd greatly appreciate it.

the site is www.junkmailmusic.com

the php page in question is SHOWS.

NEWS is a duplicate php deal, but because there's not enough content in it there's no vertical scrollbar, and so no horizontal scroll bar, but if i add more entries, the same problem will happen.

the other two pages on there are just regular html and they work fine, no horizontal scroll bar...

so it seems like somewhere in the php mess there's a page width set that needs to be reduced by 20px or so, but i can't find it.. !

thanks,
devon

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-15-2007, 01:31 AM
In each stylesheet for those pages, lose the margins on the html and body and then set a width to it like so

body, html
{
margin: 0;
padding: 0px;
border: 0px;
color: #ffffff;
font-family: Century Gothic, Helvetica, Arial, Sans-Serif;
font-size: 13px;
font-weight: normal;
text-align: left;
background-color:#8998b0;
scrollbar-face-color: #8998b0;
scrollbar-arrow-color: #ffffff;
scrollbar-highlight-color: #ffffff;
scrollbar-3dlight-color: #ffffff;
scrollbar-shadow-color: #ffffff;
scrollbar-darkshadow-color:#ffffff;
scrollbar-track-color: #ffffff;
width:416px;
}
You may need to adjust that width. The other thing you could do is use the suggestion here
http://www.adobe.com/devnet/dreamweaver/articles/horizontal_scroll.html
Don't worry you really don't need DW if you don't have it. I personally don't like this suggestion because it makes IE6 go into quirks mode causing to render some things improperly.

devonrs
07-15-2007, 02:30 AM
god i'm stupid. i had no idea you could just set a width in the body.. derrr.. that solved the problem, i could even keep the margins. thanks!!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum