...

View Full Version : Obligatory 100% height question



deekline
07-12-2007, 08:51 PM
While designing the site for the company I'm working at I ran into a problem getting the left aligned navigation menus throughout the site to "stretch" or extend all the way down to the footer of the page. After countless hours and dozens of hack attempts I finally just gave up due to other work I needed to do. Now that I have more free time, I would like to give it another shot and was wondering if anyone here might have some suggestions.

http://www.kulabyte.com/index.php/xarpages/about_us

The menu looks fine in Firefox but do not extend property in internet explorer and other browsers.

Any help would be much appreciated, I'm much more of a designer than a coder and this is hurting my brain.

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-12-2007, 08:52 PM
Use the faux columns (http://alistapart.com/articles/fauxcolumns/) technique.

eweb
07-12-2007, 10:23 PM
So I have the same prob...I have used the faux bkg technique, but cant use it on current project. It is in an intranet site so can't direct you to it.The right col is part of an aspx master page. It is used for department sub navigation and each department it's own right side file. the portal master page calls the file from which ever dept folder.
Right now i am just cheating and using <br />...I really hate it.
Any advice?

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-12-2007, 10:38 PM
So I'm guessing you aren't able to change the html. Can you add any javascript? You might be stuck using JS. http://www.projectseven.com/tutorials/css/pvii_columns/index.htm

deekline
07-12-2007, 10:38 PM
The faux technique won't work for me either. This website uses a content management system (not my idea) and because of the design of my menu a background image won't suffice.

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-12-2007, 10:41 PM
The faux technique won't work for me either. This website uses a content management system (not my idea) and because of the design of my menu a background image won't suffice.

If the site was done properly then this wouldn't be a problem because you would be able to change the html/css easily. Read my previous post. I just had a look at your CSS file. You can't do this

<!--[if lte IE 7]>
.left {
height: 535px;
}
<![endif]-->
Change that to this

* html .left {
height:535px;
}

deekline
07-13-2007, 05:44 PM
I am able to change the HTML but the CMS complicates the process quite a bit. Everything is broken up into blocks and separated into .xt files (xaraya CMS template files)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum