...

View Full Version : Captcha



BigAl75
07-09-2007, 09:10 PM
Is there any way at all you can use Captcha on an entirely HTML web page? We don't have PHP installed on our server, and from what the owner of the company said, he doesn't see any reason to have it installed either. I don't really know enough about other programming languages to do it in any other language other than html. Is there a way to do it via javascript? If so, can anyone point mt in the right direction?

Thanks.

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-09-2007, 09:33 PM
What is your reason for wanting to have captcha? What server side language are you using if not php?

BigAl75
07-09-2007, 09:37 PM
We have forms for customers to fill out for testing requests, machine calibration, etc. One of the forms is getting a bunch of SPAM through it, and I want to add captcha to stop it.

Right now, the only thing I'm using is Perl, but I'm not very good with Perl right now. I was able to get the forms to work only by trial and error. Changed ones I knew were all ready working.

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-09-2007, 09:40 PM
There are perl versions for CAPTCHA.
http://bumblebeeware.com/captcha/ is one that seems promising.

You may want to check out www.hotscripts.com as well.

BigAl75
07-09-2007, 10:02 PM
Thanks. I'll check them out. I thought I had it figured out once, but ended up with Internal Server errors. I had a form within a form, which I know shouldn't/can't be done, but couldn't figure out any other way to call the captcha cgi file as well as the calibration.pl file.

Like I said, still learning perl.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum