View Full Version : First CSS Site - problems with ie and firefox differences

07-08-2007, 09:18 AM
Hi there
I am trying to learn css and am converting a table site to a css layout - I used a template and really wanted to keep it all w3c friendly. I have hit a couple of problems that I cant get over and was wondering if anyone could help! I am not a proper web designer more of a webmaster and am struggling although I think I understand the concepts now its so hard to make things go where you want them! The temp webaddress of the site I am creating is:


The questions I had were:
1. Is is possible to keep your site w3c compliant and still use phpads, rss feeders and google ads?

2. In ie the name and address has a big gap above it which it doesnt in ff. I tried to resolve this by adding something that ie <7 didnt understand that ff did to adjust the padding but it didnt work for me - does anyone know the way to do this? I think that I need top padding of 90 for ie and 150 for ff - maybe I am on the completely wrong track though :)

3. In my header there is a prince of wales feathers and I just cant get it to be visible behind the text - I can move it right up and get to see it but I would like it to sit where it is but be visible. not sure what info you would need to see for this. I also can't move the "promises" up a bit

I love the firefox web plug ins - how good are they! I had a failed attempt with css before but they make such a difference!

Also any other comments would be appreciated! Currently the phpads /google ads etc isnt working in firefox but I am hoping to fix that later

thanks so much for any help

07-08-2007, 09:29 AM
In your CSS you have this

margin: 0;
padding: 0;
when it should be

* {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
Fixing that will likely fix issues 2 and 3. You will need to add padding and/or margins when you want them manually. As for issue 1, because the scripts contain some form of html in them you need to move them to an external js file. You aren't going to be able to make the iframe that google uses valid but you can move the phpads to an external js file to get the document valid. If you have adblock in Firefox, the google ads likely won't work as they are usually on the blocked lists.

07-08-2007, 01:20 PM
Thanks for that - That * missing really helped a lot!

I found this article which was kind of interesting re: google adsense in strict xhtml sites: http://www.webwicked.com.au/journalentry-29.html. I am trying it but it is a bit above my head considering I am not entirely sure that I can even embed an object successfully.

It seems so difficult to get a nice site together that performs well across platforms and remains compliant. I think maybe I chose the wrong dtd

I just realised that you are the same person who helped me before when I failed on my first css site! Thanks for helping again!

07-08-2007, 03:02 PM
do i put all this in the .js?

<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='http://d657987.i86.quadrahosting.com.au/adx.js'></script>
<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript'>
if (!document.phpAds_used) document.phpAds_used = ',';
phpAds_random = new String (Math.random()); phpAds_random = phpAds_random.substring(2,11);

document.write ("<" + "script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='");
document.write ("http://d657987.i86.quadrahosting.com.au/adjs.php?n=" + phpAds_random);
document.write ("&amp;what=zone:6&amp;target=_blank");
document.write ("&amp;exclude=" + document.phpAds_used);
if (document.referrer)
document.write ("&amp;referer=" + escape(document.referrer));
document.write ("'><" + "/script>");
</script><noscript><a href='http://d657987.i86.quadrahosting.com.au/adclick.php?n=a0c01e90' target='_blank'><img src='http://d657987.i86.quadrahosting.com.au/adview.php?what=zone:6&amp;n=a0c01e90' border='0' alt=''></a></noscript>

07-08-2007, 07:08 PM
Umm no. Just the stuff in between the script tags.