View Full Version : My 1st & Second Design!

srule_
07-08-2007, 04:17 AM
Hey,

As the title says these are my first 2 designs, I'm still learning but please tell me your opinion on:

-Which design you think has more potential
-And any improvements u would make to either.

Design 1: http://webperfect.50webs.com/ (Just went for a basic 2 column layout)

Design 2: http://webperfect2.50webs.com/ (tried to be a bit more adventuris)

PS: my images in design2 are not well defined... anyone know why they look so bad? i used photoshops vector menu to make them.

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-08-2007, 06:48 AM
I like the first one better. It has that web 2.0 feel. The second one is okay but I think the graphics could be better. I see the jagged edges on the diagonal lines. I shouldn't be seeing those. I do like the header though with the check mark.

srule_
07-08-2007, 04:05 PM
Thanks man,
Do you know how i can fix those ugly lines? i guess i should just search for a good photoshop tutorial on optimizing images?

croatiankid
07-08-2007, 07:19 PM
The first one is definitely better. I'm sorry, but the second one just doesn't appeal to me at all, so I'll comment the first one.

About the top link rollovers: I think the blue text (that comes on the mouse hover) doesn't have enough contrast against the gray background, so I think you should either darken it or lighten the blue (I'm not sure which would help, try a few shades darker and a few shades lighter and see which is easier to read/has more contrast).

I like the gray background on the left link rollovers, but I don't really like the sudden change from the dark red/black image to white. It's just a bit of a shock, even though the image is relatively small. I would probably change the image that you get when you hover over it, maybe with a shade of red, or even a light shade of grey (along with the arrow thingy).